Alumnae urged to remain active – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Alumnae urged to remain active

During the 33rd annual Senior Welcome, the leaders of the Alumnae Association of William Smith College encouraged the women of the Class of 2010 to remain active and involved members of the HWS community.

Following an introduction by the President of the Alumnae Association Katherine MacKinnon ’77, HWS Trustee Adele Schlotzhauer ’83 shared her passion for William Smith that has only grown over the years.

“The value of my William Smith Education – that foundation of knowledge – defined me, shaped me, and prepared me to live a life of consequence,” Schlotzhauer said. “If not for William Smith and the worlds of experience it provided to me, I am convinced that my accomplishments would be lesser in scope and less meaningful in their purpose.” 

She concluded with asking the Class of 2010 to become active and involved alumna “and keep your heart filled with purpose for this amazing place.”

After presenting pine treasure boxes to the soon-to-be graduates, Susan Flanders Cushman ’98, vice president of the Alumnae Association and assistant professor of biology, announced the class elections for the GOLD committee, First Class Correspondent and winner of the Elizabeth Herendeen Odell Book Award.  Francesca Antonucci ’10 was named the representative for the GOLD Committee, a graduate whose work focuses on ways to keep the class connected. Additional members included Elaine Aguasvivas ’10, Amanda Daley ’10, Abigail DiPalma ’10 and Dana Morse ’10.  Lauren Budd’10 was named Class Correspondent to The Pulteney Street Survey.  Marie Catillaz ’10 received the Elizabeth Herendeen Odell Book Award, established in memory of the much loved first director of Alumnae Relations, given to someone who will keep close to the college.  This year’s book was selected by Assistant Professor of Political Science Stacey Philbrick Yadav. 

Class President Shalon Hilton ’10, a double major in English and public policy and a member of the Laurel Society and Hai Timiai, announced the William Smith Class of 2010 honorary members: Dean Lisa Kaenzig, who, Hilton said, “helped to get us through those challenging times in our first year and who has been there cheering us on all along the way.” 

Also honored with induction into the 2010 class was Sodexo employee Betty Walther, who, Hilton said, “has also been with us since day one – she sees us every day – and can always put a smile on our faces.  She takes the time and interest in getting to know us. She embodies what is special about this place.”

In concluding the ceremony, Hilton said the memories made are the most important part of the four years at HWS. 

“I have made my memories and you have made yours,” she said.  “Look to your left, look to your right. These are the women you will carry with you always.”


Related Links