HWS places 6th in ICSA Team Race – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS places 6th in ICSA Team Race

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team finished sixth out of 14 teams in the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) APS Team Race National Championship. Skippers Austen Anderson, Sam Blouin, and David Thompson sailed with crews Bridget Nannig, Chris Klevan, and Catherine Pelo for HWS.

The regatta began with two groups of seven teams racing for a berth in the Gold Fleet Round. The top four teams in each group remained alive for the championship. The Colleges went 3-3 and finished third in their group.

The Gold Fleet Round is a double round robin. HWS logged a 3-4 record the first time through the field. The second time around, the Colleges took down eventual national champion Roger Williams, but still ended up with the same 3-4 record. At 6-8 for the Gold Fleet Round, HWS was one win away from forging a three-way tie for the fourth and final spot in the final four racing that decided the championship.

The Colleges were making their first appearance in the team race national championship since finishing third in 2007.

HWS will wrap up the 2010-11 racing season when the Gill/ICSA Coed Dinghy National Championship begins on Monday, May 30.