WS Rowing Hands Out Team Awards – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

WS Rowing Hands Out Team Awards

The William Smith College rowing team handed out its team awards at the annual Heron Athletics Banquet on April 29. The eight members of the Class of 2014 shared the Weiskittel Most Valuable Oarswoman Award, while first-year Karoline Loretan took home the Rowing Coach’s Award.
Seniors Morgan AtanasioLauren Blake-WhitneyEmily DavidowitzLibby HughesKatie LehmannKatie PaigeSinead Reilly and Alyssa Trebilcock made up the Heron rowing Class of 2014. Each of these seniors energized the team in her own unique yet unifying way. These Herons have defined the team’s standard of hardest-working and over their four years have irrevocably changed the culture of the team.
Loretan moved up to stroke in the novice eight over the course of the season. She guided the novice eights to win gold at the Liberty League Championships and take home a silver medal at the New York State Championships. Loretan and the novice eight placed fifth at the ECAC NIRC and were the only Liberty League team to make it into the grand final. Loretan was also a member of the novice eights that picked up a victory at the HWS Challenge on the Canal.
This season, the William Smith varsity eight won the petite final at the NCAA Division III Rowing Championships. The Heron 1V won gold medals at the Liberty League and New York State championships and won the petite final at the ECAC NIRC. William Smith was named the Liberty League Crew of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.