2 Heron Sailors Honored at Banquet – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

2 Heron Sailors Honored at Banquet

Two William Smith College sailors were honored at the annual Heron Athletics Awards Banquet. Senior Arielle deLisser was presented with the Ady Symonds ’96 Most Valuable Sailing Award and first-year Christine Moloney received the Christine Jurczak ’00 Coach’s Award.
An All-MAISA Women’s Skippers first team selection, deLisser competed in 13 regattas this year. She guided the Herons to their best finish in program history at the ICSA Women’s National Championship, taking seventh place overall. deLisser paired with sophomore Allison Aughtry for a fifth place finish in the A Division at the national championship event. This fall, deLisser claimed second place at the Navy Radial Open, earning a spot in the Faye Bennet Trophy. deLisser went on to win the Faye Bennet, upping the HWS sailing team’s conference championship total to 15. She took second in the A Division of the MAISA Women’s Fall Regatta, helping HWS to a victory. deLisser also competed in the ICSA Women’s Singlehanded National Championship for the third time in her career, finishing second, the best finish by a Heron sailor since 1999. deLisser was also tabbed an all-conference skipper in the 2012-13 season.
Moloney competed in five regattas in her rookie season on the HWS sailing team. She finished in 11th place in the B Division of the Navy Women’s Regatta, helping the Herons capture fifth overall. Moloney sailed to a fifth place finish in the B Division of the North Fall No. 2. She also traveled as an alternate with William Smith to the ICSA Women’s National Championship.
The Hobart and William Smith sailing team competed in three championship regattas to cap its fall season and Heron sailors competed in the ICSA Women’s National Championship for the 15th year in a row.