Writing Prize Winners – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Writing Prize Winners

Hobart and William Smith recognized the winners of the fourth annual First-Year Writing Prize on Friday, April 1.

Sponsored by the Writing Colleague Program and the Center for Teaching and Learning, the First Year Writing Prize celebrates outstanding student writing completed each fall semester. Faculty members from across the curriculum nominate essays in a range of genres, from analysis and research to reviews and non-traditional essays. Faculty jurors then gauge how well nominees fulfilled and exceeded the requirements of the prompt, as well as the sophistication of thinking and quality of writing.

Of the 29 first-year students nominated, the faculty jurors, representing a variety of disciplines, selected winners William Samayoa ’19 and Parke Schweiter ’19 for their respective essays, “Forgiveness: The Opportunity to Relocate the Light” (written for Professor of Religious Studies Michael Dobkowski’s first-year seminar: “Genocide in the Modern Age”) and “Perceptions of Reality Compared” (written for Professor of Physics Don Spector’s first-year seminar: “Einstein, Time, and Relativity”).

“We received nominations from faculty across all divisions and submissions in a wide range of genres, which fits nicely with the new writing-enriched curriculum efforts,” says Hannah Dickinson, assistant professor of Writing and Rhetoric. “Writing Colleagues and Writing Fellows were closely involved in both the revision and selection processes, which speaks to the growth of both of these programs in the last several years.”

At the April 1 reception, held in the Blackwell Room, all nominated students were honored, along with the award presentations to this year’s winning essays. Samayoa and Schweiter received a monetary prize and their work will be published.