Academic Success Celebrated – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Academic Success Celebrated

Join the William Smith and Hobart Deans in celebrating students’ academic achievements through the Blackwell-Hale Awards.

Named after two of HWS’ extraordinary community members, Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell and Benjamin Hale, the Colleges’ Blackwell-Hale Awards shine a spotlight on students’ exemplary academic accomplishments at the Colleges. Faculty, deans, departments and national organizations select recipients in recognition of the standout research, scholarship and creativity they have produced during their collegiate career.

While the coronavirus pandemic has prevented the special celebration from taking place in person, HWS community members are invited to view a list of the Blackwell-Hale Award winners and join the Deans in sending their congratulations.

“We named the event after Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman in America to receive the Doctor of Medicine degree and Benjamin Hale, the first college dean of a liberal arts college in the United States, because their intellectual accomplishments reshaped HWS, just as our honored students continue to do,” William Smith Dean Lisa Kaenzig P’22 and Hobart Dean Scott Brophy ’78, P’12 expressed in a joint statement.

In addition to awards in every academic discipline, students are recognized for their civic and social engagement on campus, in Geneva, N.Y. and globally with awards such as the Elizabeth and Ruth Young Peace Prize and the Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award.

This year, 40 students have been recognized with the “President’s Civic Leadership Awards” for their service in Geneva, N.Y. in partnership with the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning. They are Civic Leaders, coordinating HWS TutorCorp programming at the Boys and Girls Club of Geneva and virtual tutoring sessions through America Reads. In addition to organizing the Colleges’ Days of Service, they are members of Big Brother Big Sister, Geneva Heroes and other civic leadership programs.

New inductees have been announced to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. Thirty-two seniors and 12 juniors have been inducted into the society. The inductees represent majors in STEM, the humanities and the social sciences.

Previously, William Smith and Hobart Colleges have hosted separate academic award ceremonies: The Benjamin Hale Dinner for Hobart College and Moving Up Day for William Smith College. After conversation with alums, faculty, students and staff, the deans envisioned the Blackwell-Hale event to celebrate the life of the mind as a central value of the Colleges’ heritage and future.