+ Curriculum – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \


The Political Science department offers courses in four subfields of political science: American politics, comparative politics, international relations, and political philosophy and theory. Focus is placed on factors that shape politics today like wealth and power, ethnicity and race, and gender and nationality, as well as developing the analytical skills necessary to succeed in education and life.

Political Science offers a disciplinary major, a B.A., and a disciplinary minor.



If you’d like to view a full listing of our course options in Political Science or any other subject, please visit the Online Course Catalogue.

Click for the Course Catalogue

Requirements for the Major (B.A.)

disciplinary, 10 courses

Two introductory courses from among POL 110, POL 140, POL 160, and POL 180; one course in each of the four subfields (the introductory courses count); a 300-level course, a seminar in the junior and senior years; and a group of four courses, one of which may be outside the department, that define a theme or focus and are approved by the adviser. Except for seminars, no more than four courses in any one subfield count toward the major.

Requirements for the Minor

disciplinary, 5 courses

Five political science courses in at least three separate subfields (American Politics, Comparative Politics, International Relations, Political Theory), three of which must be at the 200-level or higher.