Announcing New Writing Colleagues – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Announcing New Writing Colleagues

The HWS Writing Colleagues Program recently welcomed a new cohort of 16 peer mentors.

Hobart and William Smith held a welcome celebration for the newest members of the Writing Colleagues Program.

Writing Colleagues are partners in learning through writing. Founded in 1994 by Professor of Writing and Rhetoric Cheryl Forbes, the program trains peer tutors who are then embedded in courses across the disciplines and may eventually become Writing Fellows at the Center for Teaching and Learning.

Rather than editing, proofreading or evaluating, they lend support and act as a sounding board for ideas. In this way, Writing Colleagues serve as an academic bridge between students and professors and, particularly for first-year students, provide an intellectual connection to college life.

Following a rigorous seminar designed to develop the necessary critical-thinking and reflective skills, the 16 members of the 2021 cohort will be assigned to field placements, where they will support and mentor students on writing-based coursework and projects.

The newest roster of Writing Colleagues includes:

Anupam Dhungana ’23

Claire Isabel Kapitan ’24

John Lloyd ’23

Katherine Mahoney ’24

Victoria Mauro ’24

Kaitlyn McAllister ’24

Elliott Menzies ’24

Jackson Mischler ’24

Katelyn Oswalt’24

Roxana Pena ’23

Brenda Plascencia ’24

Kayla Powers ’24

Emily Rourke ’24

Kylie Rowland ’24

Cayden Smith ’24

Annette Stephens ’24

Learn more about the Writing Colleagues Program.

In the photograph above,  Dean for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment & Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning Susan Pliner introduces Elliott Menzies ’24 during the Writing Colleagues Program welcome event.