GHS Drama Club presents ‘School House Rock Live’ – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

GHS Drama Club presents ‘School House Rock Live’

Every Saturday morning between 1973 and 1985, a classroom of imagination-defying enormity was assembled on ABC-TV. Class sessions were short but intense — squeezed between episodes of “Scooby Doo” and “LaffOlympics” — and Underoos met the dress code. That institution of learning was called “School House Rock,” and if you can recite the Preamble to the U.S. Constitution and know the function of a conjunction, you probably attended faithfully.

That pop culture phenomenon will soon come to the musical stage when the Geneva High School Drama Club presents, “School House Rock LIVE!” This production will be staged at 7:30 p.m. Friday March 17, and Saturday, March 18. Doors will open at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $5 in advance and $7 at the door, and are available in Geneva at Area Records and Music on Seneca Street, the HWS College Store, the high school office during school hours, or by calling (315) 781-4179 during school hours.

Originally created by an advertising executive who was concerned that his son knew all the Beatles’ and Rolling Stones’ lyrics but couldn’t remember his multiplication tables, the Emmy Award-winning 1970s Saturday morning cartoon series taught history, grammar, math, science and social studies through clever, tuneful songs.

This production features Tom, an inexperienced school teacher nervous about his first day of teaching, who tries to relax by watching TV. Then characters — representing facets of his personality — unexpectedly appear and show him how to win his students over with imagination, wit, and music, including such songs as “Conjunction Junction,” “Just A Bill,” and “Lolly, Lolly, Lolly.”

Directed by Kevin Schoonover with musical direction from Christine Sauter-Milligan, the show features Maddy Adams Brooks, Jesse Collins, Amy D’Silva, Dan De Nose, James Eddington, Adam Fryer, Emma Lawler, Michela Myers, Hannah Schoonover and Zachary Schoonover.

Chorus members include Jasmine Bush, Errine Carney, Erica Christmas, Kiley Conklin, Kayleigh Egburtson, Rochelle Elliot, Jonathan Garcia, Nikki Godino, Camille Halfman, Taylor Higgins, Jacquie Jones, Maeve Keeton, Gloria Merced, Sean Oxley, Alexandria Schultz, Lynesia Sinkler, Emily Smith, Kathryn Snyder, Crystal Woody, and Debbie Zugehoer.

Jasmine O’Connell and T.J. Schühle are co-stage managers; Steve Palumbo is the band director; Bruce Purdy provides technical assistance and light board operation; Ray Howard and Corbin Irvin provide sound design and operation. Mary Schoonover is the assistant to the director.