4 Hobart harriers win awards at Block H – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

4 Hobart harriers win awards at Block H

Four members of the Hobart College cross country team were honored by the Statesmen Athletic Association and the Hobart Athletics Department at the 2008 Block H Awards Banquet on April 28. The John L. Brown ’32 Award was presented to junior Alex Bryce (Bellows Free Academy/East Fairfield, Vt.), while the Charles P. McCoy ’68 Award went to sophomore Ben Flanagan (Masconomet/Boxford, Mass.). Senior Joe Bochynski (Amherst/Amherst, N.Y.) was honored with the Dr. Agustus H. “Gus” Hillman ’26 Memorial Award, and first-year Ross Hicks (Hopkins School/Hamden, Conn.) received the Rookie Award for Cross Country. The team’s most outstanding runner, Flanagan has been the first Statesman to cross the finish line in every race over the past two seasons. He registered a first-place finish at the SUNYIT Invitational, finishing the 6-kilometer course in a time of 20 minutes, 20 seconds. Flanagan also registered two second-place finishes this year, at the Hobart Invitational and the Cross Country Only Conference Championships (CCOC). At the CCOC Championships, he recorded a season-best 8k time of 26:31. Flanagan was named the Liberty League Performer of the Week three times this season. Bryce is this year’s most improved runner. He demonstrated continuous improvement throughout the season, notching a season-best time of 33:35 at the CCOC Championships. Bryce was also named to the Liberty League All-Academic Team this fall. The lone senior on the squad, Bochynski helped guide a young Statesmen team. His sportsmanship, determination, and leadership are unparalleled, providing an excellent example for everyone on the team. Bochynski went out on top, running his fastest race of the season at the final meet of the fall, the NCAA Regional Championships. He posted an 8k time of 30:55. Hicks was the top rookie runner for Hobart. He registered a season-best time of 30:38 at the NCAA Regional Championships, beating his previous-best of 30:42 recorded at the Liberty League Championships. Hicks posted a time of 30:45 at the Saratoga Invitational as well, and placed 12th at the SUNYIT Invitational. The 2008 Block H Awards Dinner was held in Bristol Gym on April 28. Over the next two weeks, the individual team awards will be announced on the HWS Web site. To read about the major award winners click here. Check the Web site tomorrow to read about the football team’s award winners.