Holland Prize Competition – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Holland Prize Competition

Radiation and black holes and aberrations, oh my! The 11th annual Holland Prize Competition in Physics was held this spring in Eaton 110. Though the competition was steep, including presentations about uniform circular motion and quantum mechanics, judges Assistant Professor of Physics Steven Penn, Assistant Professor of English Laurence Erussard and Associate Professor of Dance Cadence Whittier selected senior Nicholas Baranco as the winner. Baranco, a physics major and Blackwell scholar, presented about the existence of black holes. “This year, all of the presentations were very good,” says Associate Professor of Physics Ted Allen. “In fact, I’d say this was the best year yet.” Any student who has taken introduction to physics may compete for the Holland Prize by presenting a known physics concept. The students are judged based on both the scientific and rhetorical quality of their presentations. Entrants are not expected to describe original research. The annual competition is endowed by Professor Emeritus Allan Russell, who started the competition in hopes of encouraging students to explore and study the world of physics. It is named in honor and memory of former Hobart and William Smith President Albert Holland. For more information on the Holland Prize Competition, visit the physics department Web page. In the photo above, senior Christopher Woytovich presents on applications of uniform circular motion.

Related Links