Seven laxers earn Block H Awards – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Seven laxers earn Block H Awards

The Statesmen Athletic Association and the Hobart College Athletics Department recently honored seven Statesmen lacrosse players for their excellence during the 2008 season. Seniors attackman Daryl Veltman, attackman Jamie Kirk, defenseman Rafe Mattingly, midfielder Sean Murphy, and faceoff specialist Dan Spinella were all recognized, as was junior defensive midfielder Matt Smalley and first-year long-stick midfielder Alex Caton. The William H. Dobbin ’40 Memorial Award went to Veltman for his outstanding offensive play. He holds Hobart’s Division I records for career goals and career points. The three-time All-ECAC selection and 2005 ECAC Rookie of the Year wrapped up his collegiate career with 109 goals and 53 assists for 162 points. Veltman ranks 15th on Hobart’s all-time lists for both career goals and career points. With 26 goals and 11 assists this season, he ranks 16th in the nation in goals per game and 22nd in points per game. Veltman won the ECAC Lacrosse League Offensive Player of the Week Award three times this season. He was also presented with the Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 Memorial Award, which goes to Hobart’s outstanding senior athlete, at the Block H Awards Banquet in April. Kirk was the recipient of the Van Arsdale Award, for his superior scholarship, leadership, and determination. He led the team in points for the second season in a row with 15 goals and 25 assists. Kirk was tabbed the ECAC Lacrosse League’s Offensive Player of the Week once this year, after notching his first career hat trick in an 10-6 upset over then-No. 15 Loyola. He ranks 11th in the nation in assists per game and earned a spot on the 2008 All-ECAC second team. Kirk closed out his career at Hobart with 27 goals and 63 assists in 28 career games. Mattingly was honored with The Crook Family Award for his leadership, outstanding play, sportsmanship, and overall value to the team. One of the best defenders in the ECAC Lacrosse League, Mattingly shut out several of the nation’s top attackmen, including Georgetown’s Brendan Cannon and Loyola’s Shane Koppens. He tied for third on the team in ground balls, collecting 34. Mattingly earned second team All-ECAC honors for his efforts. Murphy earned the Kent W. Marbury ’62 Memorial Award for his hard work and dedication to the program. He closed out his career with 46 goals, 19 assists, and 88 ground balls. Murphy was fifth on the team with 18 points (12-6) this season. He scored a season-high two goals four times this year against Saint Joseph’s, Rutgers, St. John’s, and Loyola. Murphy earned second team All-ECAC honors this season. A faceoff specialist, Spinella earned the Lt. John Vandeverg ’50 Award as the team’s most improved player. He won 125 of 242 faceoffs (.517) this season, finishing his career with a .533 winning percentage at the X. Spinella finished second on the team in ground balls with 56, a 56 percent increase over last season’s total (36). He finished his career with 127 ground balls and 393 faceoff victories, only two Division I Statesmen have won more. Smalley was presented with the C.R.A.G. Outstanding Defensive Player Award. A second team All-ECAC pick, he led the team with 63 ground balls this spring, and enters his senior season with 198 career ground balls. Smalley ranks 23rd in the nation in ground balls per game. He also played an expanded role on the offensive end of the field, notching five goals and four assists. He was named to the league’s weekly honor roll twice. The recipient of the Lacrosse Rookie Award, Caton played in all 14 games for Hobart this season. He finished tied for third on the team in ground balls with 34. Caton collected a season-high six GBs twice, against St. Joseph’s and at UMass. In addition to being a strong defender, he provided the Statesmen with an offensive spark, scoring three goals in transition. Hobart finished the season with an 8-6 record, including a 4-3 mark in the ECAC. The Statesmen tied Rutgers for third place in the conference standings.