#4 Herons win PK shootout with Endicott – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

#4 Herons win PK shootout with Endicott

William Smith won a penalty kick shootout 4-3 over Endicott to advance to the third round of the NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Tournament. The two teams were tied 1-1 at the end of 110 minutes of action, leaving the Herons 14-1-5 on the season, while the Gulls end the year with a 16-3-3 mark.

William Smith controlled the tempo of the match, outshooting Endicott 24-10 and holding an 8-1 advantage on penalty kicks. The Herons opened the scoring in the 15th minute when Rayza Santiago ripped a shot from 7 yards out for her third goal of the season. Kaitlyn Tyson earned the assist, sending a cross from the right side to a wide open Santiago in the middle.

Gulls’ goalie Amy Meuse kept William Smith from padding its lead, making six of her nine saves in the first half.

Endicott equalized in the 53rd minute when Allyson Bellemore’s well-struck volley from the top of the penalty area beat the diving save attempt of goalie Amanda Davis. Kayla Corbett assisted on the tally.

Both teams had quality scoring chances in regulation. Endicott’s Caitlin Flynn opted to pass with the Herons out of position and a wide open cage in front of her. Moments later, Tyson’s strike from the right flank curved just wide of the far post.

Both goalies recorded solitary saves in the first overtime and none in the second.

In the shootout, Endicott shot first, missing on its first and third attempts. Santiago and Mary Jameson converted William Smith’s first two chances, but then Meuse willed her team back into contention. She guessed correctly on each of the Herons’ next two attempts, while Victoria Hunt scored in the fourth round to even the shootout, 2-2. Both teams scored in the fifth round to send the shootout into sudden death.

In the sixth round, it was Davis’ turn to guess correctly, making a diving stop on a low shot to her left. Chelsea England burried a shot in the lower left corner to send the Herons on to the next round.

William Smith will face the winner of the Virginia Wesleyan at Johns Hopkins match. The teams will meet on Nov. 22 at a site and time to be determined.