A Lifetime of Commitment – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

A Lifetime of Commitment

Colleges welcome nine new members to Seneca Society

Each year, alumni, alumnae, parents and friends show their confidence in Hobart and William Smith Colleges by making a gift to either the Annual or Parents Fund. These gifts provide immediate support for the Colleges’ greatest needs.

Capital gifts, on the other hand, fund the types of projects and programs that build the campus infrastructure, including classrooms and residence halls.

In 2006, the Seneca Society was founded to honor those members of the Colleges, both living and passed, whose tremendous lifetime generosity has remarkably altered the course of Hobart and William Smith Colleges.

On September 19, 2008, the members of the Seneca Society gathered in New York City to welcome nine new members.

Julius “Randy” G. Blocker ’53
Crediting Hobart with setting the foundation that led to his success, Randy Blocker ’53 was a regular supporter of the Colleges, consistently giving to the Annual Fund and endowed scholarship fund as well as making provisions in his will to create The Julius G. Blocker ’53 Endowed Scholarship Fund in honor of his late mother, Maria Blocker. Through his thoughtful gifts, Blocker made it possible for the Colleges to educate world citizens and instill in students the importance of a global community.

James F. ’56 and Cynthia L. Caird
Recipients of the HWS President’s Medal, Jim ’56 and Cindy Caird have provided significant financial assistance to scholarships, capital projects and athletics. In 2006, they established the James F. ’56 and Cynthia L. Caird Endowed Scholarship to support deserving Hobart students from the New York Capitol region. In June 2007, the Colleges honored Jim and Cindy’s tremendous generosity and years of support with the dedication of Caird Hall.

Arthur E. de Cordova ’56, P’86, L.H.D. ’05
A rt de Cordova ’56, L.H.D. ’05 has been a loyal supporter of the Annual Fund, the Statesmen Athletic Association, the L. Thomas Melly Academic Center and most recently the residence hall that bears his name. de Cordova has made a significant difference in the lives of Hobart and William Smith students and continues to serve as a role model of engaged citizenship.

John and Janet Vandervort ’45 Cable
John and Janet Vandervort ’45 Cable established the Grace Galloway Vandervort Scholarship in honor of Janet’s mother, providing crucial financial assistance to William Smith students majoring in history. Their gift to Campaign for the Colleges funded the creation of the Vandervort Room, a campus center that plays host to numerous academic, social and cultural events.

Trustee Stuart S. Piltch ’82 and Sari Feldman P’11
Stuart Piltch ’82 and Sari Feldman P’11 have funded numerous endowed scholarships, all in honor of faculty and staff members who made a significant impact on Piltch. In addition, Piltch and Feldman have provided important support for facilities improvements and athletics.

Their recent gift to Geneva Scholarship Associates, a fund that allows academically and financially deserving students from Geneva and DeSales high schools to attend the Colleges, doubled that fund’s endowment and will change the lives of students for generations to come.

Peter J. Trias ’70
A consistent supporter of the Annual Fund, Peter Trias ’70 designated the Colleges as the beneficiary of his estate to establish The Peter Trias ’70 Endowed Fund for Poetry and Creative Writing. The fund supports poets and writers of distinction in year-long campus appointments, adding distinguished voices to the creative chorus on campus.