HWS sailing wins Arrigan Memorial Regatta – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS sailing wins Arrigan Memorial Regatta

The 12th-ranked Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team won the Arrigan Memorial Regatta over the weekend, besting the 10-team field at Georgetown. The team also sailed to a third-place finish out of 18 at the Boston Dinghy Cup, and took sixth place out of 20 at the Owen Trophy Regatta at Merchant Marine.

HWS earned 115 points in 12 races to edge runner-up Washington (Md.) by one point at the Arrigan Memorial Regatta. Sophomore Sam Padnos and first-year Aimee Kelleher sailed the HWS A boat, posting a regatta-low 53 points by finishing six of the 12 races in the top-3. Guided by sophomores David Thompson and Holly Huffine the HWS B boat placed fourth overall with 62 points, after placing in the top-5 in 10 races.

First-year Austen Anderson and junior Emily Pelo won the C division of the Boston Dinghy Cup, totaling 105 points in 17 races. In the B division, juniors John Sampson  and Meghan Jordan finished sixth, while seniors Austin Kana and Kaitlyn Van Nostrand took eighth in the A division. The group finished with an overall score of 384, 38 points behind first-place finisher Harvard.

At Merchant Marine, senior Josh Parks and sophomore Hannah Littell finished third in the B division with 80 points. Senior Rob Crane and sophomore Kelly Crane took 10th in the A division (143 points).

The sailing team will be back on the water April 4-5, when it competes in the Southern New England Team Race at Connecticut College, and the Dellenbaugh Trophy Regatta at Brown.