17 Statesmen earn ECAC West All-Academic honors – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

17 Statesmen earn ECAC West All-Academic honors

Seventeen members of the Hobart College hockey team were recently named to the ECAC West All-Academic Team. This is the eighth year the ECAC West has named an all-academic squad. Last year, nine Statesmen earned the award.

The Hobart hockey team finished the season with a program-record 21-7-2 mark. The Statesmen earned a trip to the NCAA Tournament semifinal round for the second time in program history, and were ranked as high at No. 4 in the country. The following Statesmen were named to the 2008-09 All-Academic Team:

• Senior Ryan Adler, economics major
• Junior Greg Alberti, economics major
• Junior Blake Bonham, economics major
• Sophomore Christopher, economics major
• Senior Andy Brennan, economics major
• Junior Bobby Cahill, media and society major
• Sophomore Greg Ciciola, undeclared
• Junior Nick DeCroo, economics major
• Senior Kirk Golden, economics major
• Senior Jason Merritt, political science major
• Junior Dan Miller, economics and mathematics double major
• Sophomore Daniel Organ, economics major
• Senior Michael Steiner, biology major
• Junior Drew Wadsworth, economics major
• Sophomore Matt Wallace, environmental studies major
• Sophomore Kyle Whitaker, psychology major
• Junior Jordan Zitoun, economics major

To earn a spot on the team, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.