Thirty-two from HWS installed in Sigma Xi – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Thirty-two from HWS installed in Sigma Xi

Sigma Xi, the international scientific research society for science and engineering, recently inducted one faculty member and 31 students from Hobart and William Smith Colleges.

Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is one of the oldest and largest interdisciplinary scientific organizations in the world. Its goals are to foster worldwide interactions involving science, technology and society; to encourage support of original work in science and technology; and to honor scientific achievements.

The induction ceremony was held on campus on Wednesday, April 14, and concluded with a talk from Richard Meindl, professor of anthropology at Kent State University.

New members include Kristy Kenyon, assistant professor of biology who joined the Colleges in 2003. She received a B.A. from Colgate University and a Ph.D. in neuroscience at the Institute for Biomedical Sciences at George Washington University. She was also a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard Medical School before accepting the position at the Colleges. Kenyon’s research primarily focuses on the development of the visual system in multicellular organisms and she has frequently been published on this topic.

Biology department inductees include Sarah Calabrese ’04, David Costello ’04, Lisa DeLucia ’04, Maggie Emma ’05, Sarah Evans ’05, Michael Fazio ’04, Tana Hintz ’04, Matthew Hoelzle ’04, Matthew Kanellis ’04, Claire MacNamara ’04, Emily Rozak ’04, Tamira Sanni-Sanoussi ’04, Michelle Savoca ’04 and Jessica Werder ’04.

Chemistry department inductees are Aaron Coffin ’04, Sarah Green ’04, Evan Hurley ’04, Julia James ’04, Adam Lanious ’04, Carmela Provenzano ’04, Sarah Roberts ’04, Michael Roussell ’04, Zachary Schneider ’04, Rebecca Splain ’04, Jeffrey Sullivan ’04, Elina Tserlin ’04 and Matthew Yarger ’04.

Geoscience department inductee is Andrew Baker ’04.

Mathematics department inductees include Oscar Barney ’04, Evan Hourigan ’04 and Leya Tesmenitsky ’04.