11 Statesmen rowers named All-Academic – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

11 Statesmen rowers named All-Academic

Eleven Hobart College rowers earned a spot on the 2008-09 Liberty League Men’s Rowing All-Academic Team. Dominant on the water and in the classroom, the reigning conference champions boasted as many all-academic honorees as the rest of the league combined (15).

To be eligible for the all-academic team, student-athletes must have a full year of attendance at their college or university and carry at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average.

The following Statesmen were named to the team:

  • John Heavey ’09, English & Media & Society double major
  • Owen Henn ’11, Undeclared
  • Michael Hess ’11, Undeclared
  • Alexander Kahn ’09, Anthropology & Sociology
  • Reynaldo Kelly ’11, Undeclared
  • Ronnie Martin ’11, Undeclared
  • Peter Nettl ’11, Undeclared
  • David Roberts ’11, Undeclared
  • Gerry Samson ’11, Undeclared
  • Bob Taylor ’11, Undeclared
  • Jack Trimble ’11, Undeclared

Kelly, Roberts, and Trimble were members of Hobart’s varsity eight, the 2008-09 Liberty League Crew of the Year. The varsity eight’s bronze medal winning performance at the New York State Championships last month secured the conference championship for a fourth consecutive season. The Liberty League Championships had been scheduled for a week earlier, but inclement weather forced the conference to award the title to the top finishing varsity eight at states.