Swanson earns Kraus Award, Hobart’s top honor – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Swanson earns Kraus Award, Hobart’s top honor

Four other Statesmen receive major awards at athletics banquet

Hobart College senior quarterback Craig Swanson (Jamestown/Jamestown, N.Y.) was named the 2003-04 Francis L. “Babe” Kraus '24 Memorial Award winner this evening at the 39th annual Block H Awards Dinner. The award is presented to the College's Senior Athlete of the Year.

A three-year starter, Swanson holds every major Hobart game, season, and career passing record. Over the past four seasons, he completed 454 of 802 passes (56.6%) for 5,678 yards and 47 touchdowns for a 129.7 pass efficiency rating. Swanson's career encompasses all three of Hobart's postseason appearances and three of the school's four Upstate Collegiate Athletic Association Championships. He and his classmates compiled a four-year record of 28-10 (.737), matching the record for wins by a graduating class set by the Class of 2003, and the highest winning percentage for a graduating class since the Class of 1976 left campus with a 27-8-1 mark (.764).

This season, Swanson led Hobart to a 6-4 record, including a 43-25 victory over previously unbeaten Rensselaer to capture the UCAA Championship and a 34-18 win over Norwich in the ECAC North Atlantic Bowl. He earned second-team All-UCAA honors after completing 165 of 267 for 1,851 yards and 15 touchdowns.

In 2002, Swanson enjoyed his most prolific season completing 170 of 290 for 2,209 yards and 21 touchdowns for a 139.6 pass efficiency rating. After leading the Statesmen to an 8-2 record and the program's second NCAA Tournament berth, he was named the UCAA Offensive Player of the Year and a finalist for the Gagliardi Trophy, the Division III Player of the Year award.

A charter member of the Hobart Athletic Hall of Fame, the Kraus Award is given in memory of “Babe” Kraus '24, lacrosse All-American, captain of the Hobart football team, coach of Hobart lacrosse from 1925-66, and director of athletics from 1932-63.

Seniors Havilland Campbell (LaSalle/Philadelphia, Pa.) and Carl Michaelson (Hudson, Quebec) shared the William C. Stiles '43 Memorial Award. A true gentleman, Bill Stiles served Hobart College as coach, professor, and athletic director until his death in 1979. The award is presented annually to the Hobart senior whose leadership, determination, and character most reflect the traits and value of Bill Stiles.

Campbell has served as the varsity stroke for the Hobart crew over the past three seasons. As the team member responsible for setting the pace, he has led the Statesmen to new heights, including the 2002 Head of the Charles Collegiate Championship and this spring's undefeated varsity eight that is currently ranked 19th in the nation.

A defenseman on the hockey team, Michaelson played in 27 games this season, recording a goal and two assists. Determination and dedication personified, he earned a spot on the Hobart roster as a sophomore after being cut as a first-year. This season as one of three captains, he helped lead the Statesmen (15-8-5) to their first ECAC West Championship and first NCAA Tournament appearance.

The Coach Bill Maxwell Memorial Award was presented to senior forward R.C. Schmidt (Buxton, Maine). One of three captains on the hockey team, he played in 25 games and recorded 11 points (7-4), but was honored for the selfless manner in which he handled himself over the final week of his career. With a recently healthy teammate providing a better matchup against RIT in the ECAC West Championship game, Head Coach Mark Taylor opted to dress that player in place of Schmidt. He handled the change, which also included Hobart's NCAA quarterfinal appearance, with class and maturity beyond his years. Schmidt continued to work hard in practice, providing immeasurable leadership.

During his tenure as head football coach at Hobart (1990-94), Bill Maxwell earned the respect and affection of his players, their families, Hobart alumni, the staff and faculty of the Colleges. Players and colleagues alike came to know and appreciate Coach Maxwell for his “tough love.” The Maxwell Award is presented periodically to a student, alumnus, friend, parent, staff, or faculty member whose contributions to Hobart College reflect the values of Coach Bill Maxwell. While sustaining the memory and legacy of Bill Maxwell, the award presents Hobart College with a meaningful manner in which to recognize worthy individuals whose sportsmanship, courage, teamwork, and or service to the campus community are truly outstanding and may be above and beyond the call of duty.

First-year defensive end Nolan Robinson (Johnson City/Johnson City, N.Y.) earned the evening's other major award, taking home the Abe Solomon Memorial Rookie Award. A three-time UCAA Rookie of the Week selection, Robinson finished third on the team and led UCAA rookies in tackles with 58, including a team-leading 3.5 sacks. The UCAA Rookie of the Year recorded a season-high nine tackles in his Hobart debut at Dickinson.

The Abe Solomon Award is presented annually to the Hobart athlete competing in his first season of varsity intercollegiate athletics and whose performance and contributions to his team warrant the recognition of “Rookie of the Year.”

Sponsored by the Statesmen Athletic Association, the team behind Hobart's teams, the department's coaching staff also presented individual awards in each of the College's 11 varsity sports, more than 50 in all.