New Members of Board of Trustees Announced – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

New Members of Board of Trustees Announced

Every few years, outstandingly dedicated community members–alumni and alumnae, friends and family–join the Colleges’ Board of Trustees.  Collectively, they make decisions that impact every aspect of HWS and shape the place many have come to regard as home.

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges Board of Trustees approved five new members during meetings held on campus this spring.  Appointed were N. Harrison “Pete” Buck ’81 P’12; David J. Lenihan ’72 P’12; Craig M. Stevens ’85; William A. Margiloff ’92 (Hobart Alumni Association Trustee); and Adele F. Schlotzhauer ’83 (William Smith Alumnae Association Trustee).  Linda D. Arrington ’88, who has served on the Board since 2001, was reappointed. The junior trustees, who were elected by their peers this spring, are Christopher M. Jenco ’11 and Julia R. Hoyle ’11. 



N. Harrison “Pete” Buck ’81 P’12, who earned a bachelor’s in American studies and was a member of the dean’s list while a student, was appointed to the Board this spring.   Buck also was an active athlete, playing soccer and squash.  Currently, he is an investment executive and owner of Yellowstone Capital Management.




A recipient of a B.A. in economics and political science from Hobart, David J. Lenihan ’72 P’12 was chairman of Hobart student court and ran track, receiving the most valuable player award.  Since graduation, he endowed the David Lenihan ’72 Endowed Scholarship Fund and the John R. O. McKean Endowed Scholarship Fund.  Lenihan is employed by Hx. Technologies, Inc. and serves on its Board of Directors.



Craig M. Stevens ’85, CEO and owner of DGS Retail, an interior retail décor and signage manufacturer, earned a bachelor’s in economics from Hobart, was named to the Dean’s List and participated in the phonathon.  Recently, he endowed the Craig M. Stevens ’85 Scholarship Fund, which is awarded to a Hobart or William Smith student who demonstrates a dedication to maintaining a positive attitude and has true leadership potential.




Named to the Board as a Hobart Alumni Association Trustee is William A. Margiloff ’92, who earned a bachelor’s in history with a minor in political science. Margiloff played baseball all four years at HWS.  He was named to the NCAA Division III New York State All-Regional team in 1992 and was the recipient of the Johnny Brown ’32 Baseball Trophy, which is presented to the most improved player.  Margiloff has a wealth of experience in the communications industry and now holds the title of CEO and founder of Innovation Interactive, LLC.  Committed to the Colleges, he has created the Margiloff Foundation Endowed Scholarship through the Margiloff Charitable Foundation.



Adele F. Schlotzhauer ’83 joins the Board as a William Smith Alumnae Association Trustee.  Schlotzhauer earned her B.A. in political science with a minor in sociology and was a member of William Smith Congress and a student phonathon participant.  She received the William Smith Congress Award, was elected to Hai Timiai and was a resident assistant (RA), serving as head RA.  An active member of the William Smith Alumnae Council, Schlotzhauer is now vice president of human resources for Boston Properties, a real estate firm in Boston, Mass.



In addition to the new members, Linda D. Arrington ’88, who has served on the Board since 2001, was reappointed.  Arrington has been a member of William Smith Alumnae Council, which she served on from 1991 to 1993 and 2001 – 2009.  She holds a B.S. in biology from William Smith College and an MBA from Columbia University. She has worked for JPMorgan Chase in their investment banking group, and has held senior and advisory positions with such global and iconic brands as Benetton, Chanel, Diesel and Frette. She is currently a strategic marketing and business consultant.



Julia R. Hoyle ’11 is the William Smith Junior Trustee.  A double major in French and women’s studies with a minor in studio art, Hoyle is involved in many campus activities, including Three Miles Lost, the Colleges’ Chorale and Women’s Collective.  In addition to her duties as junior trustee, this coming spring Hoyle will study abroad in Senegal.




Christopher M. Jenco ’11 joins the Board as the Hobart Junior Trustee.  Jenco is an American studies major and an English minor.  Vice president of the Hobart chapter of Phi Sigma Kappa fraternity, Jenco is a regular attendant of Hobart Student Government and a member of the Centennial Center for Leadership certificate program.  He has been an Orientation mentor the last two years, will be an Orientation leader this coming fall and is a member of the Hobart rugby team.


The full list of Board members may be viewed online.