Statesmen win 2 golds – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen win 2 golds

The Hobart rowing team brought home two gold medals and a silver medal from the Head of the Fish regatta today. The Statesmen varsity eight and second varsity eight posted victories, while the novice eight finished second.

Hobart’s varsity eight—Reynaldo Kelly, Max Swagler, Matt Scanlon, Jack Trimble, Francis Craig, Andrew Fosbrook, Carmen Cimini, Harold Zurakowski, and David Grossman—covered the course in a winning time of 10 minutes, 55.96 seconds. The Statesmen bested a field of 17 boats that included Division I crews from Albany, Marist, and Vermont, despite a technology breakdown that kept Kelly from effectively communicating with his oarsmen. Hobart finished just over a second ahead of the Red Foxes, who took silver in the Collegiate Eight event.

In the Collegiate Junior Varsity Eight event, the Statesmen’s No. 2 crew—Owen Henn, Eddie Crocket, Gerry Samson, Dillon Nachbar, Michael Hess, Richard Mable, Mark Wasmund, Ryan Scully, and David Ansel—posted a winning time of 11:22.40, just over a second better than second place Williams.

In its first action since the season opening HWS Challenge on the Canal, the Hobart novice eight—Sarah Tanzer, Coty Burgess, Reid Johnson, Will Sutherland, Spencer McCormick, Eric Ohnmacht, Rob Nanovsky, Nathaniel Shils, and Matt Hubbard—turned in an impressive showing. The Statesmen’s time of 11:24.94 trailed only Syracuse in the Collegiate Novice Eight event. The Orange won over 26 other crews in a time of 10:58.15. Hobart’s second novice eight was 12th in the same event in 12:28.1.

Hobart’s varsity four finished 13th out of 21 crews in the Collegiate Four event.

The Statesmen will complete their fall season on Oct. 31 when they compete in the Syracuse Invitational.