HWS win Arrigan Memorial Regatta – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS win Arrigan Memorial Regatta

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team placed first overall in the nine-team Arrigan Memorial Regatta at Georgetown over the weekend. HWS was also in action in the Boston Dinghy Cup (7th of 18) and the Admiral Moore Team Race at Kings Point (5th of 10).

In the Arrigan Memorial Regatta, junior Sam Padnos and senior Jen Crupnick sailed to a second-place finish with 50 points. They finished 10 of 12 races in the top-five. Additionally, junior John Babbitt and sophomore Katelyn Yonce earned third-place with 76 points, after placing in the top-5 seven times. Their combined scores gave HWS a 56-point margin of victory over second place Virginia.

In Boston, seniors John Moulthrop and Maria Trainor placed eighth in the A division, after finishing in the top-seven in seven of 17 races. Senior John Sampson and junior Holly Huffine raced in the B division, where they finished fifth with six top-five finishes, including four victories. In the C division, sophomore Patrick Kana and first-year Catherine Pelo placed sixth, with six top-five finishes.

Junior David Thompson, sophomore Austen Anderson, sophomore Sam Blouin, first-year Bridget Nannig, senior Meghan Jordan, sophomore Chris Klevan, junior Hannah Littell, and sophomore Aimee Kelleher combined for fifth place in the Admiral Moore Team Race. They posted a 12-6 record in the round robin format.

The HWS sailing team will be back on the water April 3-4, when it competes in the Dellenbaugh Women’s Trophy regatta at Brown.