3V8 wins bronze at Knecht Cup – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

3V8 wins bronze at Knecht Cup

The Hobart rowing team will leave the Knecht Cup with a bronze medal this afternoon thanks to the efforts of the third varsity eight. The Statesmen also had strong showings in three other events on the Cooper River today.

Competing in the men’s varsity eight, Division II/III event, Hobart’s third varsity eight covered the 2-kilometer course in 6:27.85. The crew from Merchant Marine captured the gold in 6:21.24, while Mary Washington earned silver with a time of 6:23.30. Liberty League rival Vassar was more than 7 seconds behind the Statesmen in fourth place.

Hobart’s third varsity eight was powered by Drew Coogan, Peter Nettl, Evan White, William Gore, Eric Ohnmacht, David Ansel, Peter Wasmund, Michael Hess, and Michael Copacino.

The Statesmen second varsity eight also earned a spot in a grand final. Harrison Goldberg, Richard Mable, David Grossman, Ryan Scully, Gerry Samson, Dillon Nachbar, Mark Wasmund, Eddie Crocket, and Bob Taylor logged a time of 6:06.23. Hobart just missed a medal, trailing Division I crews Drexel (5:58.44), Temple (6:01.75), and Virginia (6:02.62). The Statesmen finished ahead of DI entries from Bucknell (6:18.68) and Fordham (6:23.40).

Hobart’s varsity eight and novice eight competed in the petite finals.

The novices—Wesley Davis, Coty Burgess, Reid Johnson, Rob Nanovsky, John Wasmund, Matt Bianco-Splann, Spencer McCormick, Eric Ohnmacht, Matt Hubbard—were the only crew from a Division III institution to reach either the petite or grand finals. They covered the course in 6:26.98, besting Lehigh (6:34.77) and Marist (6:55.95), and trailed only Boston College (6:17.88) and Virginia’s second novice eight (6:22.20).

The Statesmen varsity eight was one of only two crews from Division III schools to reach the petite or grand finals. In fact, before putting an oar in the water today, the Statesmen were guaranteed to finish ahead of third level finalists like Boston College, UMass, Rutgers, and Villanova. By the time the petite final was over, crews from LaSalle and Army were looking up at Hobart in the standings.

The Statesmen—Reynaldo Kelly, Jack Trimble, Francis Craig, Matt Scanlon, Andrew Cobb, Harold Zurakowski, David Roberts, Andrew Fosbrook, and Carmen Cimini—recorded a time of 5:59.66, behind only Marietta (5:54.55) and Fordham (5:58.62).

Hobart will be back in action on April 17, when it hosts Colgate at the Hellstrom Boathouse.