Academic Achievements Lauded – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Academic Achievements Lauded

The annual Academic Achievement Ceremony, a celebration of the scholarly accomplishments of the Classes of 2010, was held Saturday, May 15, prior to the 185th Commencement of Hobart College and the 99th Commencement of William Smith College.

Emphasizing the Colleges’ commitment to scholarship, President Mark D. Gearan opened the ceremony by addressing the award recipients, “You’ve distinguished HWS as an institution that prizes academic excellence. I congratulate you and encourage you to bring your many intellectual gifts to go forth and lead lives of consequence.”

Joining Gearan in honoring the Classes, Provost Teresa Amott presented the Technos International Prize to Asian Languages and Cultures majors Seth Abrams ’10 and Joelle Rudnick’10 on behalf of the Tanaka Ikueikai Educational Trust for their outstanding academic achievements and commitment to the cause of international understanding and exchange.

Professor of Chemistry and Honors Chair David Craig recognized the 33 students who completed Honors and said, “In any given year more than half of the faculty is involved in the program as advisers, field or faculty examiners, or members of the Honors committee. So, on behalf of the faculty, let me congratulate you on your successful completion of honors and for giving us the opportunity to facilitate the formulation and development of your projects.”

Associate Professor of Economics and President of Phi Beta Kappa’s Zeta of New York Chapter Judith McKinney welcomed three juniors and 31 seniors to membership in the Society, the nation’s most prestigious undergraduate honors organization. Approximately one percent of students graduating from American colleges and universities are invited to join Phi Beta Kappa each year. In congratulating this year’s inductees, McKinney said, “Each of you has three qualities that have helped you succeed at Hobart and William Smith: the ability to work extremely hard; the good sense to balance that work with a wide array of other activities and experiences; and a willingness to challenge yourself intellectually and personally. I hope that you will nurture these qualities in yourselves as you begin ‘life after college;’ I have no doubt that you will inspire these same qualities in your colleagues, your families, and your friends.”

Hobart College Dean and Professor of Philosophy Eugen Baer and William Smith Dean and Assistant Professor of Education Cerri Banks recognized those students who will graduate with Latin praise.

Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) candidates were honored by Professor of Education Mary Kelly, director of the MAT Program, who noted with pride, “Our MAT students have carried out innovative research activities, reflections and projects that strive to better understand and improve educational systems and practices.” There were seven MAT graduates honored at this year’s ceremony: Alexandra Bowers, Caitlin Caron, Lindsey Dick, Trista Harris, Isabel Olson, Kieran Parker, and Shanté Rogers.

Amott concluded the program on behalf of the Colleges, President Gearan and herself by congratulating the award recipients as well as their families and friends.

In the photo above, President Gearan congratulates Molly Distefano’10 on her Honors Project. 

Related Links