Sailors head to Wisconsin for nationals – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Sailors head to Wisconsin for nationals

The Hobart and William Smith sailing team is headed to Madison, Wis., to compete in the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) Women’s Dinghy and Coed Dinghy National Championships, May 25 through June 3 on Lake Mendota. The Colleges will be making their 39th and 40th national championship appearances since 1995.

The women’s dinghy championship starts tomorrow. The four-day event begins with 18 teams competing in a two-day semifinal regatta with the top-nine finishers joining nine teams that already qualified for the finals, May 27-28, in their conference championships. The Herons, who are ranked 12th in the nation in the latest Sailing World rankings, earned a spot in the semifinal with a third place effort at the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association (MAISA) Women’s Championships on April 24-25. Conference champion St. Mary’s and runner-up Georgetown captured bids directly to the finals.

William Smith is making its 10th consecutive appearance in the women’s national championship and 11th overall. The Herons’ best finish in the championship is ninth place, which the team produced in each of its first two appearances (1999, 2001).

HWS qualified for the three-day coed championship, which begins June 1, with a sixth place finish in the ICSA Western Semifinal, May 1-2, in Seattle. The Colleges are making their eighth straight appearance (11th overall) in the coed national championship. HWS, also No. 12 in the nation in Sailing World’s coed ranking, is seeking its second national championship in the coed dinghy (2005). The Colleges have also placed second (2000) and third (1998, 2004) in the event.

Twelve sailors will represent Hobart and William Smith at the championships: sophomore Austen Anderson, sophomore Sam Blouin, junior Kelly Crane, senior Meghan Jordan, sophomore Chris Kelvan, junior Hannah Littell, first-year Kathryn Moloney, first-year Bridget Nannig, junior Caroline Patten, senior Emily Pelo, and junior Sarah Yuskaitis.

The Hobart and William Smith sailing team is led by Head Coach Scott Iklé ’84. He has been at the helm of the program since 1993, metoring 41 All-Americans, including 2007 ICSA Sailor of the Year Trevor Moore ’07.

The ICSA hosts six national championships each year: men’s and women’s singlehanded, sloop, women’s and coed dinghy, and team race. Hobart and William Smith also claimed the 2005 team race national championship.