Team of Distinction Weekend – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Team of Distinction Weekend

The Statesmen Athletic Association (SAA) will honor the 1960 Hobart soccer team with the title of a Hobart Team of Distinction on Saturday, Oct. 23 before the kickoff of the Hobart-St. Lawrence soccer match. The weekend of Oct. 22-24 will be filled with events to celebrate this legendary team.

The current Statesmen will kick off the weekend with a team practice at Cozzens Field on Friday, Oct. 22 at 4:30 p.m. Alumni and families are invited to attend.

Saturday will begin with a breakfast for the 1960 Soccer Team at 9 a.m. in the Gillman Room of Bristol Gym. All spouses and family members of the team are welcome. At 10:30 a.m., an alumni soccer game will be played on St. Clair Field, followed by a tailgate lunch for Hobart soccer alumni at 1 p.m. on the Bristol Gym Lawn.

Prior to the start of the Hobart-St. Lawrence game, the 1960 Hobart soccer team will be introduced as a Team of Distinction and an awards ceremony will be held in their honor. As a part of the ceremony, Roger Kitzman ’61 will be presented with the William J. Napier Award for his loyalty and service to Hobart Athletics. After the game, there will be reception for all Hobart soccer alumni. The weekend celebration will conclude with Hobart taking on Clarkson at Cozzens Field on Sunday, Oct. 24 beginning at 1 p.m.

The 1960 Hobart soccer team boasted a winning percentage of .812 that stood as the highest in Hobart soccer history for 32 years. The team opened its season on a six-match unbeaten streak including five wins and a tie. Those six games saw the Statesmen outscore their opponents by a margin of 30-6, including a 9-0 win over Le Moyne to start the season and a 7-1 victory over Clarkson. In their final two games of the season they faced a tough Cortland squad that defeated them by a score of 3-1. The Statesmen were quick to bounce back though, and four days later they defeated Hamilton 4-2, to finish their season at 6-1-1.

The Team of Distinction award was created in 2006 by the SAA Board of Directors to honor selected teams for their outstanding athletic achievements and for their contributions to the tradition of Hobart Athletics. The first Statesmen teams to receive this honor were the undefeated lacrosse teams of 1938 and 1940, and the undefeated football teams of 1954 and 1957.

The 1960 soccer team will be the 10th Hobart team to be named a Team of Distinction.