Statesmen catch gold at Head of the Fish – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen catch gold at Head of the Fish

The Hobart rowing team collected two gold medals and a silver medal at the Head of the Fish Regatta on Saturday. The varsity eight and the novice eight won their events, while the second varsity eight finished second.

In the men’s collegiate eights division, the Statesmen had a nearly 3-second cushion over second place Colgate. Hobart battled a strong headwind on the 5,000-meter course, logging a time of 11 minutes, 16.94 seconds. Reynaldo Kelly, Max Swagler, Andrew Cobb, Jack Trimble, David Roberts, Harald Zurakowski, David Grossman, Ryan Scully, and Coty Burgess were the fastest crew out of 19 entries.

Swagler won a gold medal in each of his four appearances at the Fish.

In the men’s collegiate novice eights event, the Statesmen put together a very strong performance, finishing more than 22 seconds ahead of the runner up in a field of 26 crews. Margaret O’Brien, Chris Smith, Conor Eagan, Edward Amorello, Robert Shannon, Alex Kent, Andrew Hellmund, Eamon Smith, and Kevin Benz posted a time of 12:25.68. Second place Williams crossed the finish line in 12:48.03.

In the men’s collegiate JV eights division, Hobart’s second varsity eight of Jessica Dinan, Peter Nettl, Gerry Samson, Osman Guneri, Michael Hess, Dillon Nachbar, John Wasmund, Eddie Crockett, and Nathaniel Shills turned in a time of 11:39.12. The Statesmen were more than eight seconds behind Wesleyan’s A entry and more than 37 seconds ahead of Wesleyan’s B entry, which finished third.

Hobart also competed in the men’s collegiate novice fours event (6th of 26) and the men’s collegiate varsity fours event (13th of 31).

The Statesmen will wrap up their fall racing schedule on Nov. 6 in the Syracuse Invitational