Environmental Studies Faculty Converge – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Environmental Studies Faculty Converge

This fall, the Colleges’ environmental studies program and the Finger Lakes Institute hosted the Northeast Environmental Studies Annual Conference (NESAC). The conference, attended by more than 50 faculty from 21 institutions, provided an opportunity for faculty in environmental studies programs across the northeast to meet, compare notes and discuss issues. Participants were from as far away as Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Vermont, and from institutions as close as SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Cornell, University of Rochester and Colgate. 

The meetings began with dinner on Friday, October 8, followed immediately by the Keynote Session about “Climate Change and Our Obligations to the Future.” Panelists included Andrew C. Revkin and Michael P. Nelson. It was moderated by HWS Professor of Philosophy Scott Brophy. Nelson holds a joint appointment in the Philosophy Department and in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Michigan State University. After nearly 15 years reporting for The New York Times, Revkin is a senior fellow at Pace University’s Pace Academy for Applied Environmental Studies. He continues to write the Dot Earth blog, now for the Opinion section of The New York Times.

The following day featured several breakout sessions in the morning and field trips in the afternoon. Professor of Economics and Chair of the environmental studies program Tom Drennen led a trip to the Cohocton Wind Farm; Professor of Geoscience John Halfman led a tour aboard the William Scandling research vessel; Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies Beth Kinne and Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies Darrin Magee took participants to Watkins Glen State Park; and Professor of Biology Beth Newell led a trip to the Zurich Bog.

The Betsy and Jesse Fink Foundation supported the Keynote Session and provided copies of Michael Nelson and Andrew Revkin’s books to NEES Conference participants.