Faculty Jeopardy 2010 – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Faculty Jeopardy 2010

The Media Club will host its annual Faculty Jeopardy event at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 2, in the Geneva Room.

“Faculty Jeopardy has become a highly successful event that brings students and faculty together in an academic and social manner,” explains Emily Anatole, Media Club president.

Questions are similar to the actual Jeopardy game, and are based in general knowledge such as history, movie trivia, and pop culture.

“Every day, students are put on the spot by professors,” says Anatole.  “Now it’s our turn to put professors on the spot!”

Last year, Assistant Professor of History Colby Ristow took home the crown, but can the reigning champion repeat his performance?  Ristow will have to match his wits with an impressive list of professors.

Competing for this year’s title are Assistant Professor of English Rob Carson, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science Marc Corliss, Professor of Economics Scott McKinney, Associate Professor of Economics Jo Beth Mertens, Associate Professor of Chemistry Justin Miller, Professor of Media and Society Linda Robertson and Associate Professor of Dance Cadence Whittier.

To emcee the event, the Media Club called in the experts – Professor of Media and Society Lester Friedman and Assistant Professor of Russian Kristen Welsh. Both Friedman and Welsh are former contestants of the actual game show. The HWS version of Jeopardy is divided into three rounds with three professors in each round. The winner of each round then goes on to compete in a Final Jeopardy round.