Hobart oarsmen beat Ithaca – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart oarsmen beat Ithaca

The Hobart rowing team enjoyed a successful, albeit delayed, return to the water, capturing the Statesmen Trophy on the Cayuga Inlet. After last week’s racing was wiped out by freezing temperatures, the Statesmen enjoyed relatively good racing conditions today.

Donated by the Class of 1996, the Statesmen Trophy is awarded to the annual winner of the varsity eight race between Hobart and Ithaca. The Statesmen seized the early lead and slowly stretched its advantage until finding another gear in the final 600 meters to win by open water. Reynaldo Kelly, Max Swagler, Andrew Cobb, Jack Trimble, David Roberts, Harald Zurakowski, Gerry Samson, Peter Nettl, and Coty Burgess posted a winning time of 6:19.6. The Bombers covered the 2,000-meter course in 6:28.4 to finish second, while RIT was a distant third (6:37.2).

The Hobart second varsity eight captured a pair of races behind the efforts of oarsmen Reid Johnson, David Grossman, Dillon Nachbar, Evan White, Michael Hess, Nathaniel Shils, Michael Cichelli, and Michael Copacino. In the morning with Sarah Tanzer at coxswain, the Statesmen logged a time of 6:40.2, more than 25 seconds ahead of second place Rochester. In the afternoon, Wes Davis sat in the coxswains seat and guided Hobart to a 14.4-second triumph over RIT, crossing the line in 6:55.0.

“It was good to be back racing again after a long winter indoors and a delayed start to our racing season,” Head Coach Mike Alton said. “I thought both varsity boats rowed strong in their opening races and found some areas to improve upon in practice.”

The Statesmen suffered their only setback of the day in the novice eight race. Hobart led Ithaca at the midway point, but couldn’t hold off the Bombers late charge. Ithaca crossed the line in 6:40.8, 1.6 seconds ahead of the Statesmen.

Hobart will be back on the water April 9-10 when the Statesmen travel to Cherry Hill, N.J., for the Knecht Cup.