2011 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

2011 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

The Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta of New York Chapter, has elected 23 seniors and three juniors to join its membership. The nation’s most prestigious undergraduate honors organization, it invites only approximately one percent of students graduating from American colleges and universities to join each year. The Colleges’ chapter meets each year to elect juniors and seniors who have distinguished themselves through academic excellence, scholarly breadth, intellectual curiosity and personal integrity. This year’s new members will be inducted on Wednesday, May 4.

“This year’s inductees have all excelled in their majors and have moved beyond a single field of study to embrace learning across disciplines,” says Kristen Welsh, assistant professor of Russian Area Studies and president of the local chapter. “Faculty who have taught these students send us comments brimming with superlatives: they attest to the students’ motivation, intellectual curiosity, and agility in grasping concepts far outside their academic comfort zone.”

This year’s new members from the Classes of 2011 are, from William Smith: Christina Amestoy, Emily Anatole, Jennifer Beavers, Meghan Bowden, Akilah Browne, Fiona Cotton, Lillian Farnham, Christine Haralambou, Neala Havener, Christa Levesque, Emma Luton, Laura Moeller, Kimberly Parkhurst, Carly Sisson, Katherine Sullivan, Amanda Ward, and Deirdre Wholly; and from Hobart: Michael Barlow, Tyler Cheney, Alexander Johnson, Michael Kane, Daniel Maguire, and David Moore. From the Classes of 2012, William Smith students Jessica Tarantino and Sarah Tarantino and Hobart student Yaoxin Liu have been elected. These students will join William Smith Class of 2011 members Madeline Caryl, Katherine Cottrell and Jessica Popp, who were elected in 2010 as juniors.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest academic honor society in the United States. Hobart and William Smith’s chapter, Zeta of New York, is the sixth-oldest chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in the State of New York. Zeta’s membership consists of faculty and staff at the Colleges who were elected to PBK at their own undergraduate institutions, as well as HWS students elected here in their junior year.