Storck qualifies for ICSA National Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Storck qualifies for ICSA National Championship

ANNAPOLIS, Md.–Hobart College senior John Storck (St. Anthony's/Huntington, N.Y.) finished third of 16 sailors this past weekend at the Mid-Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association Singlehanded Championship. The top three finishers advance to the Intercollegiate Sailing Association North American Singlehanded Championships on Oct. 22-24, in Wayzata, Minn.

“The entire team is very proud of John's performance this weekend,” Head Coach Scott Iklé said. “Last year John missed qualifying for the Singlehanded National Championship by two points. He set this championship as a personal goal, and he has achieved it.”

Sailing in 16 races for the weekend, Storck captured eight top-three finishes, including a victory in the eighth race. The senior captain never finished lower than 11th and was among the top eight boats in 13 of the 16 races, finishing the weekend with 86 points.

Also racing for the Statesmen were first-year Jay Mills (Hotchkiss School/Greenport, N.Y.), sophomore Trevor Moore (Woodstock Union/Pomfret, Vt.), and senior Wiley Wakeman (Groton School/Cohasset, Mass.). Mills grabbed the fourth spot with 106 points, earning top-five places in 10 of the 16 races.

Moore completed the weekend of racing with 142 points for ninth place overall, while Wakeman took 15th with 184 points.

Storck will travel to Wayzata, Minn., on Oct. 22-24, to compete in the ICSA North American Singlehanded Championship. Sailing in two national championship events last year, Storck skippered the HWS boat to a second place finish in the ICSA Sloop Championship last fall and also helped the team to the runner-up spot at the Team Racing Championship this past spring.

1. Andrew Campbell (Georgetown), 38
2. Peeter Must (King's Point), 78
3. John Storck (Hobart), 86
4. Jay Mills (Hobart), 106
5. Chris Branning (King's Point), 117
6. Charles Fulmer (Navy), 134
7. Alex Steele (St. Mary's), 134
8. Garth Fasano (Navy), 142
9. Trevor Moore (Hobart), 142
10. Carl Horrocks (Washington College), 144
11-16. Steve Streit (Georgetown), Dan Ramsay (King's Point), Chris Alexander (King's Point), Charles Higgins (Old Dominion), Wiley Wakeman (Hobart), Robert Noonan (King's Point)