Phenomenal 100th Class of William Smith – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Phenomenal 100th Class of William Smith

The 100th class to graduate from William Smith College joined together with family, friends, faculty and alumnae on Friday to celebrate their induction into the William Smith Alumnae Association at the 34th Annual Senior Welcome. The Class of 2011 began the Senior Welcome on the Hill with opening remarks from President Mark D. Gearan. As a class, they planted a tree to honor the roots of William Smith College, as well as to symbolize their standing as the 100th class of William Smith.

Processing down the Hill to the Scandling Campus Center Patio, the women met friends, family members and fellow William Smith Alumnae for a champagne toast and celebratory remarks from Trustee Adele F. Schlotzhauer ’83 and class president Kelly Biggs ’11

 Chaplain Lesley Adams offered encouragement to the William Smith Class of 2011 and urged them to be prepared to take a stand and to live fully in the world. She reminded the graduating seniors to, “take your degrees, become alumnae and live an abundant life.” Director of Alumnae Relations Kathy Regan ’83, P’13 spoke of the impressive gifts that the Class of 2011 has already made toward the Annual Fund. Thus far more than 230 members of the class have contributed. In fact, she noted 64 percent of the total gifts made by graduating seniors, both Hobart and William Smith, is comprised of donations by William Smith students.

Schlotzhauer ’83 spoke of her continuing passion and dedication to her alma mater and challenged the members of the 100th class to think of what their impact will be on the group of phenomenal William Smith women who will graduate 100 years from now as the Class of 2111.

Susan Flanders Cushman ‘98, president of the Alumnae Association and director of Introductory Biology Laboratories, announced the class elections for GOLD  Committee, First Class Correspondent to the Pulteney Street Survey, the winner of the Elizabeth Herendeen Odell Book Award, the Alumnae Association Award and the Judith Aslym Cross ’52 award. Biggs was named the representative for the GOLD committee, who will organize and facilitate ways to keep young alums connected. Additional members included seniors Kelsey Bair, Madeline Caryl, Kate Coley, JoJo Vinick, Deirdre Wholly, Sarah Cummings and Kara Miller. The First Class Correspondent to the Pulteney Street Survey will be a joint position shared by both Bair and Megan Rechin. Ryan Kincaid  was presented the Judith Aslym Cross ’52 award, while Biggs received the Alumnae Association award in recognition of her leadership and dedication to the Colleges. Lastly, the Elizabeth Herendeen Odell award was presented to Bair.

Also, inducted into the Class of 2011 at the Senior Welcome was Katie Flowers, Director of the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning. Hai Timiai member Lindsey Hagan called Flowers an inspiring woman who “…truly embodies what it means to make a positive change.” Lastly, Dean of William Smith College Cerri Banks concluded the ceremony by recognizing the accomplishments of the Class of 2011 and toasting to their success. She commended the women. “Not just because you did it, but because you did it phenomenally.”


Related Links