Academic Achievement Recognized – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Academic Achievement Recognized

The Annual Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony recognized and celebrated the scholarly accomplishments of the graduating senior class on Saturday morning. The Classes of 2011 were joined by family, friends, faculty and staff for the annual ceremony on the Quad.

In opening the ceremony, President Mark D. Gearan congratulated the students on their astonishing accomplishments and commitment to scholarship. Several awards were then presented.

Provost and Dean of Faculty Teresa Amott presented the Technos International Prize. Awarded on behalf of the Tanaka Ikeuikai Educational Trust, the award reflects the warm relationship between the Colleges’ and the Tanaka Trust and Technos College of Japan. This year’s recipients were Keith Bartlett ’11 and Ruiwan Xu ’11.

Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science John Vaughn recognized 27 students who successfully completed Honors, acknowledging that these students join a long legacy of graduates who have persisted, just as this years’ group did, to broaden their intellectual horizons and demonstrate academic excellence.

Assistant Professor of Russian Kristen Welsh, president of Zeta of New York Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, welcomed three juniors and 23 seniors to membership in the Society. Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s most prestigious undergraduate honors organization. Welsh said, the new members of Phi Beta Kappa have demonstrated impressive academic achievement and possess a strong curiosity about the world.

William Smith Dean Cerri Banks HON’09 and Hobart College Dean Eugen Baer HON’07, P’95, P’97 recognized the many members of the Classes of 2011 who will graduate with Latin praise.

Lastly, Professor of Education Charlie Temple honored the Master’s of Arts in Teaching candidates. This year, there were seven graduates of the MAT program honored: Francesca Antonucci’10, Kielynne Banker’10, Erin DeRemer’10, Katrina Havrish’10, Emily Pelo’10, Carolyn Pluchino’10 and Kimberly Tremlett’10.

In the photo above, President Mark D. Gearan congratulates Martin Michaels’11 on his conferral of Latin praise, Cum Laude.

Related Links