Rowing Teams Collect Accolades – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Rowing Teams Collect Accolades

Both of the Colleges’ rowing teams finished the season having earned multiple awards.

William Smith, on the heels of the program’s fourth Liberty League Championship, earned the conference’s Crew of the Year, Novice Crew of the Year, and Coaching Staff of the Year awards. The Heron varsity eight, novice eight and Head Coach Sandra Chu and her staff were honored by the league. Additionally, the Heron V8 was named the Liberty League Boat of the Week five times this season. Ranked number six entering the NCAA Rowing Championship, William Smith improved its standing with a fifth place finish in the grand final on May 28.

William Smith’s varsity eight was powered by first-years Katie Paige and Lauren Blake-Whitney; sophomores Kim Goral, Liz Hafer, Sarah Gordon, and Jess Steketee; juniors Tess Wiggins and Claire Brown; and senior Maggie Smith. The novice eight was powered by first-years Ariel Nathan, Kate Manilenko, Arianna White, Christine Reighley, Sophie Jenkins, Sinead Reilly, Grace Walter, Katie Lehmann, and Ava Pavao.

Now in her ninth season in Geneva, Chu led the Herons to their fourth Liberty League Championship and ninth NCAA Rowing Championship berth. Chu, a five-time recipient of the award, is assisted by Jodi Hope and Ford Weiskittel. Heron crews earned seven Liberty League Boat of the Week awards this season. Chu has overseen the development of five Crew of the Year winners (2004-2007, 2011) and five Novice Crew of the Year winners (2005, 2008-2011).

Hobart College, for the seventh time in the past eight seasons, collected all three of the Liberty League’s postseason awards. The varsity eight was named Crew of the Year, the novice eight was the Novice Crew of the Year, and Head Coach Mike Alton and his assistants were the Coaching Staff of the Year. The Statesmen have won all eight Liberty League Crew of the Year and Coaching Staff of the Year awards. The crew also captured the Statesmen Trophy and the Seneca Cup and finished fourth in the grand final at the ECAC Championships.

This does not mean the end of Hobart’s competitive season, however, as the team’s varsity four will go on to compete in the IRA Regatta, from  June 2-4, while the varsity eight will travel to England to compete in the Reading Town Regatta and the Henley Royal Regatta later in the month.

Hobart’s varsity eight was powered by sophomore Coty Burgess; junior Harald Zurakowski; and seniors Reynaldo Kelly Jr., Max Swagler, Gerry Samson, Jack Trimble, Andrew Cobb. Hobart’s novice eight was powered by first-years Jessica Dinan, Chris DePaola, Kevin Benz, Edward Amorello, Conor Eagan, Alex Kent, Edward Witcher, Robert Costello, and Stephen Gemmiti.

Now in his sixth season in Geneva, Alton led the Statesmen to their sixth consecutive Liberty League Championship, winning all three finals by open water. Hobart won the Statesmen Trophy and the Seneca Cup and earned a gold (2V8+) and a silver (V4+) medal at the Knecht Cup. The Statesmen were the top Liberty League boat at the ECAC Championships in the varsity eight (fourth in grand final), second varsity eight (third in petite final), and novice eight (third in petite final). Alton’s crews have been named the Boat of the Week 10 times this season. Alton is assisted by Dan Gilbert and Weiskittel.