Statesmen Honored at 2012 Block H Dinner – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen Honored at 2012 Block H Dinner

The Hobart College Athletic Department and the Statesmen Athletic Association (SAA) honored the top athletes of 2011-12 at the annual Block H Awards Dinner this evening. Drake Woodard was presented the Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 Memorial Award as Hobart’s most outstanding senior athlete.

The William C. Stiles ’43 Award for leadership, determination, and character was given to Greg Ciciola, while Tyre Coleman and Taylor Vanderbeek shared the Abe Solomon Memorial Rookie Award.

A cornerback and captain on the football team, Woodard was a four-time unanimous selection to the All-Liberty League first team. In 37 career games, he recorded 145 tackles, 8.0 tackles for a loss, 30 pass break ups, 12 interceptions, six fumble recoveries, four forced fumbles, and three blocked kicks. He is tied for second in Hobart history in career pass break ups and seventh in career interceptions. The 2011 All-American and All-East Region honoree led the Liberty League in passes defended and interception return yards in his senior season. He produced 31 tackles, a career-high 10 pass break up, and a team-high four interceptions in eight games this year. During his career, Woodard led the Statesmen to a 27-11 record, two Liberty League Championships, and two NCAA Playoff appearances. He also received the Robert L. Cullen ’37 Memorial Football Award.

Greg Ciciola and Hockey Coach Mark Taylor
A captain and forward on the hockey team, Ciciola recorded 37 goals and 31 assists in 82 career games. A 2012 All-ECAC West second team selection, he played in all 27 games this season leading the Statesmen with 15 goals and ranking second with 24 points. Ciciola recorded two or more points in six games this year and posted a season-high four points on two goals and two assists in a 10-3 rout of Manhattanville. He notched two goals in a 5-0 rout of Neumann, helping Hobart secure its second ECAC West title in program history. Ciciola earned a spot on the 2012 ECAC West All-Tournament team for his efforts. As a first-year, he received the Hobart Hockey Rookie Award after helping the Statesmen to an NCAA Tournament semifinal appearance. Ciciola has also earned a spot on the ECAC West All-Academic Team for the last four seasons in a row. He also received the Boswell Award as the hockey team’s most valuable player.

A defensive end, Coleman was unanimous voted the 2011 Liberty League Rookie of the Year, after leading the football team with 13 sacks. The All-Liberty league first-team and All-East Region second team honoree ranked third on the team with 46 tackles and posted a team-high 19 tackles. He garnered the Liberty League Rookie of the Week award six times during the season. Coleman led the league in sacks, tackles for loss, and forced fumbles (5). Coleman recorded a season-high three sacks at Union and repeated the feat at Rochester. Coleman also received the Rookie Award for Football.

A first-year midfielder, Vanderbeek ranks third on the lacrosse team with 19 goals. He has also chipped in four assists for 23 points this season. Vanderbeek is the top scoring first-year midfield in the nation and ranks seventh among all Division I first-years. He has recorded at least one point in 11 out of 12 games this year, and has notched two or more goals five times this season. Vanderbeek posted a season-high five points on four goals and an assist in a 14-13 victory at Bellarmine. A starter in 10 of the Statesmen’s 12 games, he has also chipped in 11 ground balls and a caused turnover. Vanderbeek was also presented with the Rookie Award for Lacrosse.

The Joseph N. Abraham Memorial Training Award was presented to Tommy Hayes for participating throughout the season while persevering through an injury. Throughout Hayes’ four-year career on the soccer team he battled through his share of minor injuries. Going into his senior season, he had to undergo a more extensive knee surgery than initially anticipated. Hayes was told he may have to miss his senior season, but he worked hard to not only return, but was back on the playing field two months early. In his second game back, against Clarkson, soon after entering the game he suffered an ankle sprain, but Hayes was determined to not let another injury sideline his season. He remained in the game long enough to score his second goal of the season to tie up the contest. Hayes played in 14 games, starting seven and led the Statesmen with 15 points on six goals and three assists. He finished the season tied for ninth in the Liberty league in points, and ranking sixth in points per game (1.07) and goals per game (0.43). Hayes finished his Hobart soccer career with 16 goals and 15 assists in 60 career matches, and he is tied for seventh on Hobart’s all-time list for career assists. Hayes also received the Stephen R. Murphy ’77 Memorial Award, as the soccer team’s most valuable player.

The Joe Abraham Prize for outstanding service to the athletic programs at Hobart went to Will Nissen. A four-year student manager for the lacrosse team, Nissen has dedicated his time and energy to helping the Statesmen coaching staff and team in any way he could. Whether it be editing film or taking on game day responsibilities, Nissen has gone above and behind to assist and support the Statesmen over the past four years.

Senior midfielder and lacrosse team captain Matt Campbell was presented with the Dorinne Maxwell Memorial Citizenship Prize. A financial gift in his name will be given to the Navy SEAL Foundation. Campbell has led the Hobart Lacrosse Helpers efforts to raise money for the Navy SEAL Foundation over the past three years. The foundation provides immediate and ongoing support and assistance to the Naval Special Warfare community and their families. Campbell was also presented with the Van Arsdale Award for superior scholarship, leadership, and determination.

The Coach Bill Maxwell Memorial Award which recognizes individuals whose sportsmanship, courage, teamwork and service to the campus community are above and beyond the call of duty was given to football offensive lineman Jarrid Blades. Blades planned and coordinated “Touchdown and Tackles for Happiness House.” The annual fundraiser began in 2010 and with the help of his teammates Blades has raised more than $5,000 for Happiness house through pledges from local businesses and fans for every tackle and touchdown Hobart recorded during a selected game each season. In addition, Blades and his teammates have visited Happiness House throughout the academic year to assist teachers and interact with students. Blades is a three-time Liberty League All-Academic selection. He also earned a spot on the 2011 Capital one Academic All-District first team.

Sponsored by the SAA-the team behind Hobart’s team-the department’s coaching staff also presented individual awards in each of the College’s 11 varsity sports, more than 50 in all.