Aurora Event Honors Green Scholars – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Aurora Event Honors Green Scholars

An event celebrating the current recipients of the William and Diane Green P’83, P’87 East Aurora Community Scholarship was recently hosted in East Aurora, N.Y. Held at the Roycroft Inn by HWS Trustee William Green ’83, the gathering sought to raise awareness of the scholarship and endowed fund. 

At the celebration, Josh Kreeger ’16 was named the most recent recipient of the scholarship that assists first year students from Aurora or Batavia High Schools in western New York.  Previous recipients of the Green Scholarship also attended, including Jonathon Lawless ’13, Jessica Tarantino ’12, Sarah Tarantino ’12 and Elizabeth Vail ’15. They are all from East Aurora.

Kreeger will enter Hobart College in the fall where he hopes to pursue biology and the pre-health program. At East Aurora High School, Kreeger is ranked in the top 5 percent of his class and is a member of the National Honor Society. He serves as the president of the American Field Service club, the Kiwanis Educating Youth club and SADD. Kreeger is also the captain of his school’s volleyball team, to which he was named MVP, and also plays doubles for the ECIC Division Champion East Aurora Tennis team.

William and Diane have made their home in Aurora, raising their four sons in the town. Given as a 50th wedding anniversary gift to the couple from their sons, William ’83, Kevin, Matthew ’87 and Andrew, the endowed scholarship is an acknowledgement of the profound impact an HWS education had on their sons. William ’83 of Charlotte, N.C., has served as a member of the HWS Board of Trustees since July 2011.

In the photo above, Jonathan Lawless ’13, Sarah Tarantino ’12, William and Diane Green, Jessica Tarantino ’12, Elizabeth Vail ’15 and Josh Kreeger ’16, recipients of the William and Diane Green P’83, P’87 East Aurora Community Scholarship, gather at an event held in the Green’s honor at the Roycroft Inn in Aurora, N.Y.