Academic Excellence Celebrated – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Academic Excellence Celebrated

Members of the Hobart and William Smith community gathered on Saturday morning to celebrate the scholarly accomplishments of the graduating senior class during the annual Academic Achievement Ceremony.

“I want to congratulate all of the students in the Classes of 2012 for their astonishing accomplishments and commitment to scholarship,” said President Mark D. Gearan during his opening remarks at The Smith Opera House in downtown Geneva. “We are proud of our students and wish to honor them for their commitment to the lifelong pursuit of learning.”

Interim Provost and Dean of Faculty Patrick A. McGuire HON’10 presented the Technos International Prize. Awarded on behalf of the Tanaka Ikeuikai Educational Trust, the award reflects the warm relationship between the Colleges and the Tanaka Trust and Technos College of Japan. This year’s recipients were Chelsea Hudson ’12 and Andrew Upton ’12.

In his role as the Chair of the Committee on Honors, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science John Vaughn P’08 recognized 46 students, including Wendi A. Bacon ’12, who completed two honors projects. These students join a long legacy of graduates who have persisted in broadening their intellectual horizons to demonstrate academic excellence.

Assistant Professor of Media and Society Leah Shafer, president of Zeta of New York Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, welcomed four juniors and 33 seniors to membership in the Society. Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s most prestigious undergraduate honors organization.

William Smith Dean Susanne McNally and Hobart College Dean Eugen Baer P’95, P’97, HON’07 recognized the 160 seniors who will graduate with Latin praise.

Master’s of Arts in Teaching candidates were honored by Professor of Education Charlie Temple. This year, there were eight graduates of the MAT program honored: Jaime Callan ’11, Rebecca Fry ’11, Ryan Kinkaid ’11, Christa Levesque ’11, Kevin Matteson ’11, Laura Moeller ’11, Alaria Pizzo ’11 and Ashley Yang ’11.

McGuire concluded the program by congratulating the award recipients on behalf of the Colleges.

Related Links