Sailors Seeking National Titles in Texas – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Sailors Seeking National Titles in Texas

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team will compete in three national championship events over the course of 10 days on Lake Travis in Austin, Texas. HWS sailors are seeking a national championship in the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) Women’s National Championship May 30 through June 2, the ICSA Team Race National Championship June 3-5, and the ICSA Coed Dinghy National Championship June 6-8.

Hosted by the University of Texas at the Austin Yacht Club, the Longhorns will provide live media coverage of the regattas as well as daily text and photo updates.

HWS, ranked No. 7 in Sailing World’s coed college rankings, qualified for the Team Race National Championship back on May 14-15 with a third place finish in the America Trophy on Seneca Lake. Senior Sam Blouin, junior Catherine Pelo, senior Austen Anderson, junior John Norfleet and junior Bridget Nannig competed in the event and will represent HWS in the quest for the team race national title. Junior Johnny Davenport and senior Patrick Kana will also make the trip to Texas as alternates. The group brings a great deal of experience to the event as Blouin, Pelo and Anderson competed for HWS in last year’s team championship and posted a sixth place finish.

William Smith sailors advanced to the women’s national championship after a fifth place finish at the MAISA Women’s Spring Dinghy Championship in Norfolk, Va., on May 21-22. Sophomores Arielle deLisser, Julia Oak, Brooke Lyon and Jane Rew look to improve on last year’s 10th place finish at the event. deLisser and Rew sailed in the championship last year in Cascade Locks, Ore.

Finally, HWS earned a spot in the Coed Dinghy National Championship by way of a sixth place finish at the ICSA Eastern Semifinals held in Annapolis, Md., May 12-13. Blouin, Pelo, Klevan, Anderson and Nannig clinch the spot with a solid showing at the U.S. Naval Academy.

This will be HWS’s 13th appearance in the coed dinghy championships since 1996. HWS will be looking to take home its second coed dinghy national title. Heron sailors have competed in the women’s national championship every year dating back to 2001. HWS has also been represented at the team championship seven times since 1999.

Hobart and William Smith have two national championships and both were earned in Austin. HWS captured the 2005 ICSA Team Race and Coed Dinghy titles. The Colleges have finished second in six other national championship regattas.