HWS finishes 3rd in Sailing Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS finishes 3rd in Sailing Championship

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team finished third in the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA)/APS Team Race National Championship. HWS went 2-1 in the final four racing on Lake Travis in Austin, Texas, today, finishing the regatta with a 10-7 record, one win behind Team Race Champion Charleston and tied with runner up St. Mary’s (Md.). The Seahawks beat HWS head-to-head in the final four to win the tie-breaker.

The three-day championship began with two, seven-team qualifying round robins. The top eight teams advanced to the gold double round robin. The top four teams sailed a single round robin for the Walter C. Wood Trophy.

Skippers Austen Anderson, Sam Blouin, and John Norfleet sailed with crews Bridget Nannig, Catherine Pelo, Jane Rew, and Chris Klevan for HWS.

On Day 1, HWS won its qualifying ground with a 5-1 record, advancing to the gold group with Stanford, Boston College and Georgetown. Brown, Charleston, St. Mary’s and Roger Williams progressed out of the other qualifying group.

After the first run through the gold group, the Colleges sat in fifth place with a 3-4 record. The second run through was much stronger for HWS, producing a 5-2 record to clinch the last spot in final four.

HWS won its first race with a 1-2-5 combination over Charleston. The Colleges appeared to defeat St. Mary’s in their next race, but a foul was called on the course and a penalty was assessed, giving the Seahawks the win. HWS closed out the regatta with a 1-3-5 win over BC.

In Team Racing, teams sailing three boats head-to-head. The team to get its three boats across the finish line with the lowest score (1 pt for first, 2 pts for second, ect.) wins.

Since 1999, Hobart and William Smith have competed in eight ICSA Team Race Championships. HWS has finished in the top six everytime, placing in the top three six times, including the 2005 national championship.

Hobart and William Smith will conclude its season in the ICSA/Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship, which runs from June 6 through June 8 on Lake Travis.