Statesmen Capture Crew of the Year Award – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen Capture Crew of the Year Award

The Hobart College rowing team maintained its strangle hold on the Liberty League Crew of the Year award, as the Statesmen varsity eight captured its ninth consecutive accolade. Hobart has won the award every year it has been presented and has never lost the league’s varsity eight race.

The Statesmen took a young lineup-junior coxswain Sarah Tanzer, junior stroke Coty Burgess, first-year Nicholas Baca, first-year Robert McNamara, junior Rob Nanovsky, first-year W. Hunter Holtz, first-year Nick Hindle, first-year Owen Monahan and first-year Joe Biesemeyer-to the conference championship, returning just one member of the 2010-11 varsity eight (Burgess), but that didn’t hamper Hobart’s dominance. The Statesmen turned in a 2,000-meter time of 6:27.0, besting the field by 11.3 seconds on Fish Creek in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Burgess was also a member of the 2011 Liberty League Crew of the Year, while Burgess, Nanovsky, and Tanzer were all members of the 2010 Liberty League Novice Crew of the Year.

This season, Hobart’s top crew also produced podium finishes in the Head of the Genesee (bronze medal) and the New York State Championships (bronze medal). The Statesmen retained the Seneca Cup, which is awarded to the annual winner of the Hobart vs. Colgate race, for the third straight season.