GSA Honors Newest Recipients – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

GSA Honors Newest Recipients

Celebrating the 44th anniversary of the Geneva Scholarship Associates (GSA), a gathering to thank donors and recognize scholarship recipients was held at the home of President Mark D. Gearan and Mary Herlihy Gearan on Wednesday, June 6.  More than 100 community members and students were in attendance.

“The city of Geneva is full of people who give,” said long-standing GSA supporter Stuart Piltch ’82, P’11, who commended scholarship recipients Michael DeRosa ’16, Mei-Wah Choi ’16, Zoe Bradley ’16, Morgan Onorato ’16 and Teaganne Finn ’16.

Piltch also announced that he had created the Robert C. Toner Endowed GSA Scholarship, in honor of the long-time equipment manager of Hobart Athletics.  “I consider Bob a brother, and it’s important to honor those that are important to us while they are still here,” said Piltch before acknowledging this year’s recipient, Morgan Onorato ’16. 

“College can happen for everyone,” says Stephen Dougherty ’13, a GSA Scholarship recipient.  “The scholarship is always in the back of my mind, and I am incredibly thankful for the support of the GSA.” 

“Geneva’s commitment to the Colleges is evident tonight,” noted President Gearan. “The dedication of the GSA Board and Stuart Piltch highlights the partnership between the Geneva and HWS communities in truly meaningful ways.”

In supporting the GSA, alums, parents, friends and businesses make it possible for Geneva’s brightest students to build a future by attending the Colleges.  Over the past 40 years, generous business owners and individuals have built GSA’s endowment to more than $1 million providing approximately $50,000 in annual scholarship support.  

GSA scholarships are awarded to financially deserving and academically-minded incoming first-year students from the greater Geneva area. The students will receive the GSA award each year for the four years they attend Hobart and William Smith.

Current GSA recipients include Kyle Bunce ’14, Mary Dinan ’15, Stephen Dougherty ’13, Kevin Fitzgerald ’13, Lauren Foe ’14, Allauna Overstreet-Gibson ’14, Michael Goodman ’13, Shaynon Gramling ’13, Marshall Keeton ’14, Alex Love ’14, Emma Meiggs ’13, Nina Pitifer ’13, Ryan Sollene ’15 and Abigail Wandell ’13.