Zupan ’72 Named Board Chair – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Zupan ’72 Named Board Chair

The Board of Trustees of Hobart and William Smith Colleges recently elected Maureen Collins Zupan ’72, P’09 as their next chair, making her the first William Smith alumna to hold the position. The owner of a financial planning firm based in Syracuse, N.Y., she has been a trustee of the Colleges for 18 years, serving as vice chair of the board for 14 years. She began her duties as chair on July 1 following David Deming’s ’75 six-year tenure. Katherine D. Elliott ’66, L.H.D. ’08 was re-elected as vice chair, Andrew G. McMaster was re-elected treasurer, and Beth Yingling ’76 was re-elected secretary.

“The past two decades have been ones of great accomplishment for the Colleges,” says Zupan. “It is my intention to maintain that forward momentum by building upon the legacy of our former chairs. Through the leadership of David, Charlie Salisbury [‘63,P’94, L.H.D.’08] and Tom Melly [‘52, L.H.D. ’02], among others, the Colleges are well-positioned to tackle the challenges we face, and we have a strong Board of Trustees ready to lead the way.”

Zupan served as one of the tri-chairs of Campaign for the Colleges, Hobart and William Smith’s largest and most successful campaign in its history which raised more than $200 million to support the endowment and capital projects. Named to the board in 1994, Zupan has served on the audit, compensation, financial affairs, institutional advancement, and trustee committees. Her leadership was instrumental during the celebration of William Smith College’s Centennial when she served on the Centennial Steering and Fund Committees. In 2008, she was presented with the President’s Medal by President Mark D. Gearan in recognition of her deep and multifaceted contributions to her alma mater.

“Maureen’s dedication to the Colleges is unquestionable,” says Deming. “During her time on the board, she has seen firsthand the challenges that the Colleges face. I’m confident that she will provide the leadership and vision to move Hobart and William Smith to a new level of excellence.”

While at William Smith, Zupan majored in mathematics and was named to Phi Beta Kappa. She graduated magna cum laude. In 1992, Zupan founded the Collins Family Scholarship with her sisters and their father John F. Collins P’72, P’74, P’84, P’90, GP’09, GP’12, HON ’12. That scholarship has helped deserving students attain a Hobart and William Smith education. In addition to working to ensure that students have access to the same quality education she experienced, Zupan has hosted and spoken at numerous HWS events and has sponsored several student externships. She has been a significant member of the William Smith Alumnae Association, helping to coordinate seven class reunions and taking an active role in inspiring other alumni and alumnae to make the Colleges a philanthropic priority.

Zupan is an emeritus trustee of the Upstate University Foundation and a member of the Foundation Board for SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. In the past, she was president of the Cazenovia Children’s House, secretary of the Cazenovia Area Community Development Association, member of the Steering Committee for the Syracuse Children’s Hospital and chair of community fundraising for the Crouse Hospital Foundation’s annual gala.