McCarthy makes Tewaaraton watch list – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

McCarthy makes Tewaaraton watch list

Hobart senior defenseman Greg McCarthy (Pinkerton Academy/Derry, N.H.) is one of 37 lacrosse players named to the 2005 Tewaaraton Award watch list. He is the first Statesman ever to earn a spot on the watch list.

An honorable mention USILA All-American in 2004, McCarthy is a physical defender and a deft takeaway artist. He was sixth on the team in ground balls (41) in 2004, raising his career total to 85. McCarthy turned in two of his best defensive efforts of the season against Navy’s second-team All-American attackman Ian Dingman, limiting the Midshipman to two assists during the teams’ regular season meeting and just one helper in the Patriot League championship game.

Hobart returns all but four graduating seniors from the 2004 team that posted a 9-7 overall record, the most wins in a season since 1994. The Statesmen, who join the ECAC Lacrosse League this year, open the 2005 campaign against Butler at 1 p.m., on Feb. 26, at St. Paul’s School in Brooklandville, Md.

The Tewaaraton Award Foundation announces its preseason watch list for the spring of 2005 earlier this week. These players are considered early season indicators of who to watch as the lacrosse season begins. The list will be voted upon by coaches and narrowed as the season progresses, ultimately reaching a list of five who constitute the award’s finalists.

The Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with the University Club of Washington, D.C., formally established the Tewaaraton Trophy on Aug. 29, 2000. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. Simply, it is the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.