Herons Host CCOC Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Herons Host CCOC Championship

The William Smith cross country team will host the annual Cross Country Only Conference Championships on Saturday, Oct. 13, at the Seneca Lake State Park Course. The women’s 5-kilometer race will start at 11 a.m., while the men’s 8-kilometer race will follow at noon.

In addition to William Smith and Hobart, the Herons welcome a field of 16 additional teams. Cazenovia, Clarkson, D’Youville, Hartwick, Hilbert, Keuka, Medaille, SUNY Morrisville, Paul Smith, Penn State Abington, Penn State Altoona, SUNY Potsdam, SUNY Canton, SUNY ESF, SUNYIT and Wells College will all come to Geneva to compete.

The Herons have won the women’s race two years running. Senior Emily D’Addario will look to defend her title. Last year she finished first out of 126 runners in 19:00.64. Her time was the best at the event since the first ever CCOC Championship in 2005. D’Addario has led William Smith across the finish line at every race this fall.

Clarkson has been the CCOC men’s team champion in three of the last four years. The Statesmen will look to improve on a seventh place finish from 2011. First-year Patrick Hatheway has led Hobart across the finish line in every meet this season.

The Cross Country Only Conference is comprised of school’s who sponsor cross country but not track and field teams.