Levy ’66 Joins American Academy – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Levy ’66 Joins American Academy

Reynold Levy ’66, president of Lincoln Center, has been inducted into the 232nd Class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. According to a press release issued by the Academy, he was selected as one of the “influential artists, scientists, scholars, authors, and institutional leaders” who were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at a ceremony earlier this month.

“Induction recognizes the achievement and vitality of today’s most accomplished individuals who together with the Academy will work to advance the greater good,” Academy President Leslie Berlowitz said. “These distinguished men and women are making significant strides in their quest to find solutions to the most pressing scientific, humanistic, and policy challenges of the day.”

Levy was inducted as a member of the “Educational, Scientific, Cultural and Philanthropic Administration” section, along with Jared Leigh Cohon of Carnegie Mellon University, Victor J. Dzau of Duke University, Melinda French Gates of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; Anthony W. Marx of the New York Public Library; and Rafael L. Reif of Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Among the participants in the induction ceremony were Yale University historian David Blight; actor Daniel Day-Lewis; American baritone Thomas Hampson; Supreme Court advocate Maureen Mahoney; University of Wisconsin biologist Margaret McFall-Ngai; business leader and philanthropist Penny Pritzker; and Cornell University mathematician Steven Strogatz.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy is one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious learned societies, and an independent research center that draws from its members’ expertise to conduct studies in science and technology policy, global security, the humanities and culture, social policy, and education. The current membership includes more than 300 Nobel laureates, some 100 Pulitzer Prize winners, and many of the world’s most celebrated artists and performers.

Levy is a Hobart Medal of Excellence recipient, who was a political science major and a member of Phi Beta Kappa while a student. He is the honorary chair of fundraising efforts for the HWS Performing Arts Center, and served as a member of the William Smith Centennial Honorary Committee.