‘Celebrating’ Campaign a Success – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

‘Celebrating’ Campaign a Success

The Colleges recently completed a highly successful year-end, three-day giving Celebration. Coinciding with the holiday season, the Office of Advancement invited members of the HWS community to join together to honor those who have inspired, supported, or made a difference in their lives.

In just three days, 343 people were celebrated by alumnae, alumni, students, parents, faculty and friends of Hobart and William Smith. All the gifts received have already made a powerful impact on the Colleges, and will continue to help support the students, faculty and staff who make Hobart and William Smith an extraordinary place.

Each gift, made to the annual fund on an individual’s behalf, was compiled on the Colleges’ website along with a personal message for others to see and share in. Coaches, professors, roommates, parents and friends were among those honored, and the outpouring of gratitude was a reflection of the spirit and generosity of the Colleges’ extensive community.

Dozens of professors were celebrated for their outstanding leadership, support and continued inspiration.  Matthew Heissan ’93 expressed his gratitude for Professor of Sociology Jack Harris, “Thank you for helping me think, I am a better person for it. You’ve made an impact on so many people’s lives – beyond HWS.”

Professor of Economics Pat McGuire was honored by Gretchen Sword ’06, whose message was a testament to McGuire’s dedication as a mentor and educator. “Professor McGuire, you believed in me, inspired me and taught me. I am so eternally grateful.”

Taylor Anderson ’15 honored Head Lacrosse Coach Pat Genovese, saying: “You helped lead me to HWS, and I am so proud to be able to say you were my coach.”

Chair of the Board of Trustees Maureen Collins Zupan ’72 also joined the campaign, celebrating Honorary Trustee Chair Emeritus Tom Melly ’52, L.H.D. ’02 for “being the role model for time, talent and treasure in support of HWS!”

Others honored included the Hobart football and hockey teams, Director of Hobart Athletics Mike Hanna, Director of William Smith Athletics Deb Steward, Chaplain Lesley Adams, Deans Susanne McNally and Eugen Baer, Professor of Public Policy and Political Science Craig Rimmerman, and Professor of Political Science Iva Deutchman.

Be sure to look through all those Celebrated this holiday season at http://www.hws.edu/celebrate.