Hobart Honors Top Student-Athletes – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart Honors Top Student-Athletes

The Hobart College Athletic Department and the Statesmen Athletic Association (SAA) honored the top student-athletes of 2012-13 at the annual Block H Awards Dinner. Point guard Stefan Thompson was presented with the Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 Memorial Award as Hobart’s most outstanding senior athlete.

The William C. Stiles ’43 Award for leadership, determination, and character was given to soccer midfielder Alex Kittelberger while rowing first-year Brett Lawhon earned the Abe Solomon Memorial Rookie Award.

The first NABC All-American in Hobart history, Thompson earned second team All-America accolades after leading the Statesmen to their first conference championship in over a decade and an appearance in the NCAA tournament. He averaged 15.6 ppg and a league-leading 5.4 apg this season. Thompson also earned All-America honors from DIII News and D3hoops.com in addition to garnering the Liberty League Player of the Year award. After playing in a Hobart record 113 games, starting 111, Thompson finished his career with 1,643 career points (4th all-time), 500 free throws made (2nd), and 492 assists (2nd). A four-time All-Liberty League pick, including three straight first team honors, Thompson is the first Statesman to be selected to play in the NABC/Reese’s Division III College All-Star Game.

Thompson also received the Bob Ford ’54 Basketball Award as the team’s most valuable player.

A team captain, Kittelberger led Hobart in goals (7), assists (4), and points (18) this season. A three-time All-Liberty League selection, he also earned a spot on the 2012 NSCAA All-East second team. A standout in the classroom as well, the computer science major was a two-time Capital One Academic All-District selection. In 71 career matches, Kittelberger produced 16 goals, including five game winners, and eight assists for 40 points.

Kittelberger was also presented the Stephen R. Murphy ’77 Memorial Award as the soccer team’s most valuable player.

The first oarsman to be named Hobart’s overall Rookie of the Year, Lawhon has been a member of seven Liberty League Boats of the Week, this season. This spring, he has been the stroke for the varsity eight, setting the tempo for the rest of the crew. Lawhon and the rest of the varsity eight earned a silver medal at the Knecht Cup earlier this month, Hobart’s highest finish in the V8 event at the Knecht. The Statesmen are heavy favorites to capture their eighth consecutive Liberty League Championship on Sunday, April 28 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Lawhon was also the recipient of the Rookie Award for Rowing.

Five additional department-wide awards were also presented this evening. The Joseph N. Abraham Memorial Award went to hockey senior Cam Miller for his perseverance through injury. The Joe Abraham Prize for outstanding service to Hobart athletics was presented to senior student athletic trainer Andrew Abrams and senior basketball student manager Dylan Hysack.

Hockey team senior student manager Andrew Mason received the Coach Bill Maxwell Memorial Award for outstanding service that went above and beyond the call of duty. Cross country junior Weston Traub earned the Dorinne Maxwell Memorial Citizenship Prize. His exceptional record of service includes volunteering at an animal shelter in Mexico and building houses in Costa Rica.

The William J. Napier ’57 Memorial Award recognizes loyalty and service to Hobart. Senior Taylor Jones  a student director of the SAA, earned the award after he led a membership drive among his classmates on the soccer team which resulted in 100 percent participation before the SAA even began its recruitment of the Class of 2013.

Sponsored by the SAA-the team behind Hobart’s team-the department’s coaching staff also presented individual awards in each of the College’s 11 varsity sports, more than 50 honors in all.