Hobart Wins Conference Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart Wins Conference Championship

The Hobart College rowing team continued its dominance of the Liberty League, claiming its eight consecutive championship on Fish Creek in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Since the Liberty League sponsored its first men’s rowing championship in 2004, Hobart’s varsity eight has never been beaten, capturing nine consecutive gold medals (the 2005 championship was cancelled due to weather conditions). Since 2006, the conference has designated the winner of the varsity eight race as the Liberty League Champion (the 2004 event used a point scale to determine the champion).

This year, Jessica Dinan, Brett Lawhon, August Wherry, Robert McNamara, Milos Milosavljevic, W. Hunter Holtz, Rob Nanovsky, Owen Monahan, and Davis Muller left no doubt about which school has the strongest varsity eight. They barrelled down the 2,000-meter course in 5:57.29. RIT was a distant second, several boat lengths back in 6:13.04. Union, St. Lawrence, and Skidmore rounded out the five-boat field.

Dinan and McNamara represented Hobart on the inaugural All-Liberty League team.

The second varsity eight was a three-boat race featuring the Statesmen 2V8 and 3V8 as well as Union’s 2V8. As the finish line approached, it was duel between the Hobart crews. Sarah Tanzer, Joe Biesemeyer, Patrick Ware, Nicholas Baca, Dylan Brodie, Julien Green, Reid Johnson, Harrison Wasserbauer, and Coty Burgess pulled the 2V8 home in 6:11.05, 1.73 seconds in front of their teammates. The Dutchmen were more than 34 seconds behind the Statesmen 3V8.

Hobart earned its third set of gold medals in the novice eight race. Sky Drazek, Lawhon, Wherry, Milosavljevic, Green, Ware, Wasserbauer, Brodie, and Muller turned in a time of 6:09.09, 18.68 seconds faster than runner up RIT. Hobart’s varsity four, an exhibition entry, crossed the finish line third followed by Union’s novice eight.

RIT brought home the gold in the varsity four race, besting St. Lawrence by more than five seconds. Hobart’s A and B entry in the event took third and fourth, respectively. Those crews were made up of members of the Statesmen fourth varsity eight. Skidmore was fifth behind Hobart.

Hobart’s championship chase continues May 4-5 in the New York State Rowing Championships in Whitney Point, N.Y.