Academic Rigor Recognized – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Academic Rigor Recognized

For their dedication to academic excellence, members of the Classes of 2013 had their moment of recognition Saturday morning during the annual Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony held this year at the Robert A. Bristol ’31 Field House.

“We warmly welcome all of our students who will be acknowledged here this morning and we congratulate them for their hard work,” said President Mark D. Gearan during his opening remarks. “And we welcome their parents, family members and friends who have sustained them and brought them forth to this very exciting day.”

In light of their accomplishments, Gearan said the high-achieving students have truly enriched the Colleges through their work and brought distinction to campus for their many significant endeavors.

“The prizes, the awards, the Latin Praise, Honors, Phi Beta Kappa induction, the Masters of Arts in Teaching will all be appropriately celebrated this morning,” Gearan said. “They are testaments to the hard work and industry, and discipline and focus on the part of our students.”

During the ceremony, Provost and Dean of Faculty Titi Ufomata introduced the various ceremony presenters, beginning with Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science John Vaughn P’08, who is the chair of the Committee on Honors. Vaughn announced the students and their respective Honors projects.

“The Honors Program enables students to undertake an independent research or creative arts project in close association with a faculty adviser,” Vaughn said. “The process is arduous and demanding, with moments of doubt and also many moments of discovery and even exhilaration.”

Vaughn said students participating in the program most complete two semesters of intensive work on the project, a comprehensive written exam, and a thesis or substantial arts project. Overall, this work helps to demonstrate their mastery of their chosen path of study, he said.

Following the recognition of the Honors Program students, Assistant Professor of Media and Society Leah Shafer, who is the president of the Zeta of New York Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Society, announced the inductees from the Classes of 2013 to the prestigious honor society. Shafer said among this year’s Phi Beta Kappa Society inductees it is evident that they have a passion for life-long learning.

“Every member of this group of exceptional students demonstrates a flexible and generous intellectual vitality,” Shafer said.

During the ceremony, Ufomata also introduced the 2013 Technos International Prizes awarded on behalf of Tanaka Ikueikai Educational Trust to one Hobart and one William Smith student. Kimberly Guzman ’13 was the William Smith honoree and Khalym Burke-Thomas ’13 was the Hobart honoree.

Assistant Professor of Education Khuran Hussain, who is the coordinator of the Masters in Arts Teaching Program at HWS, said the students completing their master’s degree in the Classes of 2013 worked tremendously hard for their academic accomplishment.

“As you can imagine, it was a challenging and rigorous year for our students, but they have certainly risen to the challenge and we are so proud of each and every one of them,” Hussain said.

Concluding the Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony, Dean of Hobart College Eugen Baer HON’07, P’95, P’97 and Dean of William Smith College Susanne McNally each delivered their college’s Presentation of Latin Praise. Following the reading of the names, Ufomata shared with the attendees the final remarks of the ceremony.

“On behalf of the Colleges, President Gearan, and myself, congratulations to all of the award recipients, their parents and their families. And thank you for the hard work and support that made these awards possible,” Ufomata said.

Related Links